Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine died on highway at 60mph...

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2018, 12:21 AM
spartansix
Rennlist Member

Received 380 Likes on 223 Posts

I would recommend the 993 coil swap, but I think it also makes sense to check the power feed into the fuse/relay box.
Old 09-05-2018, 01:13 AM
gregmitch
Rennlist Member

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by John McM
I went back to the C2 owner with the cut-out issue. He said it was a loose main power feed connection into the fuse/relay box in the Frunk that caused his issue.
Checking power feed to all of those wires is probably above my comfortability of possibly doing something wrong. Unless it's easily accessible? I'm new at this and electrical is not something I have much experience with.

Originally Posted by jonathant
Sounds like fuel pump to me, because of the hard-start issue. An old fuel pump that is on the way out can take a long crank, or a few cranks, before building enough pressure to start and usually it will sound like it *wants* to start but can’t quite. If, that time when the engine shut off while tou were driving, the engine started to stumble before it died that would cement it for me. Once the engine stalls all your dash warnings will come on of course

However, if it really is like a knife switch then look to electrical issues first. I.e. if the slow start problem is “engine turns but does not try to fire at all, then suddenly starts just fine” that would suggest electrical to me: coils, DME or immobilizer.