Dead as if there was no battery - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dead as if there was no battery

Reply

Old 03-11-2018, 08:38 PM
  #1  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default Dead as if there was no battery

Hi guys ,
went for a spin with my soon , stop for a meal, then try to start the car, with usual procedure living the C4 pump pressurise the system, the dash lights felt a bit deam and pump sound slow but it happen before,
then I couldn't start the car, I tested the battery around 13.3 volts, then went home pick up a another battery, plug it and when turn the key no lights on the dashboard at all like if there was no battery plugged, I also changed the DME but my spare may be damaged,
its 12 h30 pm here in France, I though trying fixe it in the morning getting a new DME from the Porsche garage near by.
any ideas what else it could be
Thanks a lot
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 08:49 PM
  #2  
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor
 
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 11,712
Default

Provided the battery load tests OK, I'd suspect a battery cable problem. Time to get out that battery terminal cleaning brush and clean the posts, clamps and all grounds (remember the one back at the transmission).
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 03:00 AM
  #3  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

Thanks Steve , all the cables probably need cleaning ...
Could it be the cut off switch, there is a little resistance there !?
I will try to plug the battery directly .
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 11:40 AM
  #4  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

Call the recovery, he use a booster and to start it, we bumpstarted it in 2nd, drive it for one hour but back home it did the same, absolutely no lights on dash board, so impossible to restart.
verdict from the recovery man and passing by to see a Porsche mechanic,
all the components on the car are in good order, the battery showing 13.8 v means that there is no amps at all, I was advised to charge it over night to see if it will recover otherwise the battery is dead, shame as it was purchased a month ago, I guess I will use the guaranty ....
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 09:36 AM
  #5  
Railmaster.
User
 
Railmaster.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 747
Default

Originally Posted by kos11-12 View Post
Call the recovery, he use a booster and to start it, we bumpstarted it in 2nd, drive it for one hour but back home it did the same, absolutely no lights on dash board, so impossible to restart.
verdict from the recovery man and passing by to see a Porsche mechanic,
all the components on the car are in good order, the battery showing 13.8 v means that there is no amps at all, I was advised to charge it over night to see if it will recover otherwise the battery is dead, shame as it was purchased a month ago, I guess I will use the guaranty ....
Charge the battery? It's already 13,8 volts You said?! And It's not the DME relay. My bet is also on the battery and ground/earth cables!

Good luck, and keep us posted!
Railmaster. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 11:13 AM
  #6  
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor
 
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 11,712
Default

Originally Posted by kos11-12 View Post
Thanks Steve , all the cables probably need cleaning ...
Could it be the cut off switch, there is a little resistance there !?
I will try to plug the battery directly .
You didn't mention a battery cut-off switch until now so yes, thats a major culprit.
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 12:29 PM
  #7  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

Cheers guys , really appreciate your comments and support !

I tell you what ! I thought batteries are straight forward.
I
Was thinking passing by the cutoff and directly plug the + to the batterie, before doing that, I measure voltage both sides of the cut off switch and found over 13 volts , what the hell !!
This is a Deltran , battery Tender, lithium lifePo4,
26/35 Ah , CCA of 480 ,
I guess I try to plug the large battery from my Audi A6 with my jump start cables,

Is there suppose to be a little resistance wire to the cut off , could not find one wired , can that have any effect on the battery ?
Cheers guys !
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 01:35 PM
  #8  
Railmaster.
User
 
Railmaster.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 747
Default

Is this just another thread where we never hear what was done to fix the car eventually?
Railmaster. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 03:32 AM
  #9  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

I sometimes I have to travel for work, just looking at the issues at the moment,
the issue is between, the battery, the cut off switch and the cut off wiring plugged from the cut off going to ignition,
I am ordering today some wiring a new cut off, regarding the battery I will use my other car one to test the system;
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 08:29 AM
  #10  
Harry Apps
User
 
Harry Apps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 472
Default

Originally Posted by Railmaster. View Post
Is this just another thread where we never hear what was done to fix the car eventually?
Perhaps a little impatient?
Harry Apps is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 05:47 PM
  #11  
Railmaster.
User
 
Railmaster.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 747
Default

Originally Posted by Harry Apps View Post
Perhaps a little impatient?
Yes! 100% true! I feel ashamed now!
False flag this time!

Just remember the thread with the guy who had his CCU exchanged with a ratty broken one by a garage, we never heard how he solved that!

Last edited by Railmaster.; 03-19-2018 at 05:50 PM. Reason: Typo
Railmaster. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 05:57 PM
  #12  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

I tell you what , I have no space and garage to work at the moment , I do it all from my underground parking with out much light ( mobile phone light , parking light ) my tools and other bits are in lockup, it’s a real night mare to fix this issue , been working on it several times until very late with not a lot of progress , but I guess with intermittent break downs it’s the case ,
I also missed a gathering this week end with some mates :-(, as I could not fix it :-((( working until 1 am..
real night mare, I hope to fixe it by the week end.
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 06:04 PM
  #13  
Dingo
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by Railmaster. View Post
Yes! 100% true! I feel ashamed now!
False flag this time!

Just remember the thread with the guy who had his CCU exchanged with a ratty broken one by a garage, we never heard how he solved that!
I was thinking about this the other day! Wonder what happened?
Dingo is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 07:21 PM
  #14  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

Hi guys ,
little update, I received today what’s called a load tester, for the batterie , basically a big scale multi meter with a amp reading function witch can tell me if the battery has enough cranking power or enough amps power , witch à multi meter can not give you this info ,
the good news is that the battery is in very good condition, here are some pictures, I kept the multi meter plunged during the 10 seconds load test and the batterie show well over 60% of its cranking capacity , ( according to Deltran , manufacture of the battery)





Last edited by kos11-12; 03-24-2018 at 07:37 PM.
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 07:29 PM
  #15  
kos11-12
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
kos11-12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK & Paris FR
Posts: 1,444
Default

Sorry did not finish the message ;
so I am left with suspecting the cut off switch or the wiring going from the cut off to underneath the fuse boxe located in the front boot, I suppose those are wired to ignition key and coils , I really hope the cut off switch is the issue, because getting under the board to solder 4 wires is going to be very sporty, I will need to joint the yoga course down the road ;-(
waiting for the courier with the new cut off, will keep you updated
kos11-12 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dead as if there was no battery


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: