adaptive engine mount retrofit - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

964 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

adaptive engine mount retrofit

Reply

Old 01-09-2018, 03:15 PM
  #1  
-nick
User
Thread Starter
 
-nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cambridge/Boston, MA
Posts: 1,201
Default adaptive engine mount retrofit

Just an odd idea. It seems that 964/993/996/997/991 engine mounts are all physically interchangeable? If so, PDEM dynamic/active hydraulic engine mounts from the new models would bolt on. Question is if it could be wired up for a simple on/off operation? Or even 0%/50%/100% modes? The mounts appear to use a 3-pin connector, which would make a +12v/gnd/signal (0-5v?) input seem likely.

Bringing this up after an 1800 mile holiday road trip with wevo mounts- great for "sporting" but certainly introduce needless NVH for highway cruising. Of course, the pdem mounts would be less actively intelligent without a pasm to talk to but still seems like a worthwhile prospect.

Last edited by -nick; 01-09-2018 at 04:32 PM.
-nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 04:27 PM
  #2  
heliolps2
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
heliolps2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 269
Default

Ok..You have my attention
heliolps2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 04:49 PM
  #3  
The Italian Pursuit
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
The Italian Pursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 387
Default

Confirming your first assumption is the first step.

the second would be understand how do mounts work
The Italian Pursuit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 05:31 PM
  #4  
velocitylover
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
velocitylover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Schaumburg, IL.
Posts: 486
Default

velocitylover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 06:08 PM
  #5  
mystert
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
mystert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 223
Default

Check these links out, explains the inner workings. Looks like you could just energize the magnet with 12v to engage the solid engine mount performance and deeneegize to get the viscous mount performance.
mystert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 07:31 PM
  #6  
Nylasurf
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 261
Default

Food for thought...wonder if DSCSport's system could function as the brain for a retrofit working off the same sensor for input. - hmmmmm.
Nylasurf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 10:31 PM
  #7  
Peteinjp
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 114
Default

I was thinking the same thing. Would be a pretty slick addition to their system.


Pete
Peteinjp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 01:11 PM
  #8  
-nick
User
Thread Starter
 
-nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cambridge/Boston, MA
Posts: 1,201
Default

If the input signal is a variable 0-5v, then you could certainly build a stand-alone controller using whatever accelerometer/etc inputs that you want to make it smart. But thatís getting way ahead of the game.

Iím going to stop by a local p-car speed shop soon for some other work. Iíll see if they have an old 997/991 mount lying around that I can borrow to check if it physically fits. Maybe theyíll know how the pdem mount inputs work. I havenít seen any technical literature on the system, only watered down sales ads.

Sounds like Iím not the only crazy person who would find this useful. For some perspective, the mounts are over $2k/pair from Porsche or about half that if you can find them used.
-nick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 10:47 AM
  #9  
JasonAndreas
Technical Guru
Rennlist Member

 
JasonAndreas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USVI
Posts: 7,385
Default

When these first came out I looked into this and decided there were too many missing sensor signals that I would need to supply over a CANbus for the controller to function properly. I think I found the documentation describing what you need in the workshop manuals.
JasonAndreas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2018, 04:02 PM
  #10  
onceover
User
 
onceover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 572
Default

Originally Posted by JasonAndreas View Post
When these first came out I looked into this and decided there were too many missing sensor signals that I would need to supply over a CANbus for the controller to function properly. I think I found the documentation describing what you need in the workshop manuals.
In order for it to be a "smart" system this would be true as you would need a controller to adjust based on road/engine variables. If you wanted to make it a simple "on/off" system I cant imagine it being hard. The mounts themselves wouldn't need a fancy controller just to engage.
onceover is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: