Notices

How To Add a Cylinder Head Temp Gauge

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2005, 12:18 PM
Smokin
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default How To Add a Cylinder Head Temp Gauge

I finally was able to install my cylinder head temp gauge. I figured I would snap some pictures to share with all of you to show you how I did it. If anyone has a better way of doing it... I'd love to hear about it... Or if anyone sees anything that I have done incorrectly... Please speak up! I tried to submit this as one post... But it looks like I'll have to break it up into sections!

I have a 1990 C2 coupe... Obviously those of you with cabriolets will have to run your wires in a different manner. I did not have access to a lift or this job would have been much, much easier.

I am not a mechanic... Nor do I play one on TV but doing it this way did work for me. Total time from start to finish (Including runs to the store for parts and tracking down several ways to enter the cabin that ended up being a dead end) was about 4 hours. Doing it this way should be able to shave off A LOT of time... If you have eveything you need.

Parts and Tools Needed
Cylinder Head Temp Gauge package - Includes gauge, wiring, sensor and instructions.
4 Crimp-on female connectors (Some come with kit. I was shorted one in kit but wanted higher quality insulated type anyway.)
Drill
Coat hanger wire
2 feet of stiff wire
Electrical tape
screw drivers
10mm Socket or wrench to remove heat shield
Spark plug wrench
Dremel tool or a file and lots of time (Depending on your mounting method.)
Heat shrink tubing
Zip ties (Nylon tie straps)
2 wire taps to steal power for gauge light
Patience... Lots and lots of patience