Notices

87 944 Turbo Sunroof limit switch positions

 
Old 04-07-2013, 04:12 PM
  #1  
kyle951
User
Thread Starter
 
kyle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 87 944 Turbo Sunroof limit switch positions

I am trying to correctly position limit Switches II & III and wanted to know if someone could possibly take a picture of their switches for me, where I could compare theirs to mine.
I have moved both of these swithces front to back in order to properly set the locking position on the roof. The sunroof is open and closing but it is not retracting to the lock position when the car is running. I have checked all the switches and they are all in working order but I just can't seem to dial in the limit adjustment.
If anyone has an idea of what is going on, or what I might be doing wrong, please let me know. I have spent hours trying to resolve this problem after replacing the plastic gears and it is driving me crazy

Thanks
Kyle
kyle951 is offline  
Old 04-07-2013, 11:17 PM
  #2  
Josh B
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Josh B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,053
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here is a pic of one I pulled out of a parts car.
Attached Images  
Josh B is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 01:15 AM
  #3  
kyle951
User
Thread Starter
 
kyle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Josh... From what I am seeing in this picture, it looks like it is in the same position that mine is in.this makes me wonder if the problem im having is with the limit switches, or something else.
kyle951 is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 05:25 AM
  #4  
Ski
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Ski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Heber Springs, AR
Posts: 7,892
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You have one in the front of the sunroof too, the tab in the middle of sunroof, forward, there is a limit switch up in that area behind the plastic pc. You can make it click with the roof out and push up on it.
Ski is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 07:27 AM
  #5  
Josh B
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Josh B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,053
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ski View Post
You have one in the front of the sunroof too, the tab in the middle of sunroof, forward, there is a limit switch up in that area behind the plastic pc. You can make it click with the roof out and push up on it.
This is the one I've seen fail the most.
Josh B is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:49 AM
  #6  
Ryan_U
User
 
Ryan_U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The switch at the front of the sunroof near the interior light had to be adjusted on mine. I took the micro switch apart and slightly bent the contact. Then you can adjust the metal bracket by turning two allen screws that are hidden by plugs. I also had to slightly bend the bracket. Solved my sunroof problem!
Ryan_U is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 12:19 PM
  #7  
m73m95
Super User
 
m73m95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 7,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

What problem did it solve?
m73m95 is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 05:47 AM
  #8  
kyle951
User
Thread Starter
 
kyle951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks guys... I checked the front microswitch and even adjusted it via the screw located behind it. This appeared to adjust the opening and Closing distance of the roof, but not adjust the latches to where they lock into position when the car is running.The roof continues to open and fully release but not engage and lock in to postion.

Kyle
kyle951 is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 04:14 AM
  #9  
ried
User
 
ried's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: California
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kyle951 View Post
thanks guys... I checked the front microswitch and even adjusted it via the screw located behind it. This appeared to adjust the opening and Closing distance of the roof, but not adjust the latches to where they lock into position when the car is running.The roof continues to open and fully release but not engage and lock in to postion.

Kyle
This is the exact problem I am having. The lifting arms will not stop in the locked position.

Kyle, did you ever solve this particular issue? Anyone else able to chime in?
ried is offline  
Old 07-14-2017, 04:09 PM
  #10  
Dr. Dynamics
User
 
Dr. Dynamics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 571
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

+1
Dr. Dynamics is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 87 944 Turbo Sunroof limit switch positions


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: