Notices

Tuning Devices

 
Old 07-16-2003, 05:18 AM
  #61  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks...must have posted at the same time. Another question...If I am running stock chips, then does your system also replace those chips Or do I need to have aftermarket chips first to raise/ remove overboost etc.
Also, as I understand it, the SMT6 just intercepts the AFM signal and modifies it before passing on to the DME. Without giving away secrets, how are you able to data log the other data?
Thanks
awilson40 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:24 AM
  #62  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

We offer chips.

The SMT6 can and does intercept many signals. It's part of the installation instructions that we provide.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:31 AM
  #63  
RAPID944
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
RAPID944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: LATVIA, Sigulda
Posts: 358
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally posted by fast951
We offer chips.

The SMT6 can and does intercept many signals. It's part of the installation instructions that we provide.
Chips are incl in PB kit. If not do I need them?
RAPID944 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:34 AM
  #64  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You can use a PB with any chip. However for the PB to be effective you must use chips that are designed to handle variation in the signals intercepted.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 05:43 AM
  #65  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If just the PB kit is purchased from you, do you include modified chips also?
awilson40 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:04 AM
  #66  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It depends on your configuration.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:08 AM
  #67  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

stock AFM, Reliaboost now set at 13psi due to stock chips.
Stock exhaust, stock intake, stock wastgate, Cycling valve
removed and reliaboost as boost controller
awilson40 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:21 AM
  #68  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

awilson40, it's better if we take this off-line. I don't mind sharing technical info on the list, but this is borderline selling a product. Better be done elsewhere.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 06:31 AM
  #69  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I understand, thanks, I'm really just info gathering at this point trying
to decide which way I want to go as far as upgrades.
awilson40 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 08:53 AM
  #70  
crazyracer
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: somewhere nice
Posts: 267
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looking at his webpage, the MAF kit is 1,250 and the MAF kit with piggyback is 1,700. That's 450 dollars difference, another 1,200 for the turbo to go to stage 2, which others like speedforceracing are selling well over 1,500 dollars. The 750 only makes sense if you are upgrading from another MAF system but then why don't you sell your old MAF system on ebay like I did and buy the complete vitesse MAF inc. piggyback and chips for 1,700?

He is offering the best deals for our cars and now you want to get it even cheaper and get his knowledge for free? Something is wrong here.
crazyracer is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 11:27 AM
  #71  
evil 944t
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
evil 944t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,526
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

awilson40,
first of all, John is not out to rip anyone off.. I bought his kit and it is awesome. His knowledge and support and the fact that he came up with a kit that is kicking [email protected]#! is great! If your into buying a piece of hardware for 350 then putting it on your shelf because you didn't do your home work and you can't install it without further help is up to you.

You might want to do some research on all the items that are sold on this list. Guess what? Tuners are making money. Thats why they do it for a hobby, business and chance to make money.

Anybody can buy a part cheap, Its knowing how to use it that cost money.
evil 944t is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 01:21 PM
  #72  
AlexE
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 747
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

....in regards to what Vitesse Racing charges. IMHO he does not charge enough.

People pay me for my knowledge just like I am willing to pay for others knowledge........thats the way things work.

I don't know how John stays on top of all of his customers....I am in the middle of an install of his Stage 2 and he is actually sending me emails on questions I have not even asked yet! This guy is a mind reader.

I have also gone and ordered products from other suppliers that I know are marked up quite high but I feel the need to support people who provide great knowledge.... I want the smaller innovative tuners to succeed!

Thats my 2 Canadian cents.... about 0.25 cents american but climbing.
AlexE is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 07:46 PM
  #73  
m42racer
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,664
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any mark up on a products worth is justified in business. Even more when "value is added". Many companies use other companies products in there "kits" to provide a complete user kit. Adding value is a something that costs $. Simple.

With the Internet, we all can surf and find products which before were hidden from every day people. Only the Trade had access to these products. We all have become "penny pinchers" as we can now buy direct in many cases. Good luck, spend your money wisely. Just remember, we now have the product, but absolutely no idea of how to use it.

We should not be critical of those who add value. We should be critical of those who don't. There are many out there who just add cost to a product and add absolutely no value. We need to steer away from those so called vendors.
m42racer is offline  
Old 07-17-2003, 01:46 AM
  #74  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

M42racer, Well said.

Also when comparing prices one must compare apples to apples. Buying a development kit (as Vitesse Sells), includes more than just the unit itself.

Perhaps people should check with the other vendors regarding the price of the SMT6 development kit... which they will need to adapt the product to the 951.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-17-2003, 03:51 AM
  #75  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hold on...I'm not slamming John or Vitesse. I was just wondering what all is included in the price of the piggyback kit. I have stock chips, so if replacement DME and KLR chips are NOT included, then I have to upgrade them at a $300 cost on top of the $750. Also, I understand that the 'developers' kit is around $750 but normally the developers kit is purchased by the developer in order to set up, program, and configure the hardware...In the software world, the developers kit is a one time cost to the developer and he just buys additional hardware to sell. I found that the SMT6 hardware is $350, the Developers kit is $789 with one unit but can be purchased with a total of 5 SMT6 units for around $1600. If I buy the system from Vitesse, do I get the FULL developers kit with cables, test stand, developers manual AND chips tuned for my application and boost limit raised or removed.
Again, from what I read, Vitesse AND Guru do great work and I'm trying to decide which offers more and which piggyback unit has the most features.
awilson40 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: