Notices

Tuning Devices

 
Old 07-11-2003, 11:31 PM
  #16  
TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

Hey Bengt, is this something like what you are looking for?

<img src="http://mywpages.comcast.net/twthacker/IDLEFM.JPG" alt=" - " />

<img src="http://mywpages.comcast.net/twthacker/PTIGN.JPG" alt=" - " />
TT is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 02:45 AM
  #17  
dmoffitt
User
 
dmoffitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,921
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

I'm quite happy with my lindsey digital maf, but even that elegant solution is just a work-around, i'd rather have Motec or Electromotive (Tec3)...
dmoffitt is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 03:39 AM
  #18  
rcldesign
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

TT - is that Motec software? I looked on the Motec website and all they had was some dos - based software. Or are those screen shots from something else?
rcldesign is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 06:11 AM
  #19  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

TT,

I like the display. Did you write the application using Delphi? This will make a nice user interface to an emulator.
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 08:44 AM
  #20  
TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

rcldesign,

They are screen shots from my own custom software to my realtime Motronic setup.

fast951

No, it is not Delphi, just raw windows. I wrote my own custom double buffered guages so updates are seamless. The grid and grid editing is also homegrown so I don't have to distribute any controls.

Those are screenshots from live operation in my 951. I also have a data logger/capture utility which has much more information available. The O2 sensor and graphical position of the throttle plate come from my custom Motronic interface board, the rest of the data comes from Motronic itself.
TT is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 09:34 AM
  #21  
awilson40
User
 
awilson40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

TT...
Tell us when we can buy it and how much !!!
Maybe a demo ??
awilson40 is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 09:55 AM
  #22  
fast951
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Thread Starter
 
fast951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6,723
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

TT,

Nice work. It sounds that you have created a package to operate the Motronic in a similar fashion to a Stand Alone. Any plans on marketing the product?
__________________
John
Email
www.vitesseracing.com
fast951 is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 10:56 AM
  #23  
TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

You guys are an easy sell. I haven't even shown you the real good stuff yet.

Motronic is a standalone engine management system (I think everybody really means aftermarket) All that was missing from the stock system was real time editing and monitor feedback, so I added it. I have also been reprogramming Motronic, not just remapping variables, but actual new code. I currently have native MAF support (out with the VAF code, in with the new MAF code; stock fuel maps work fine) and support for large injectors (does its best to keep injector pulse width &gt; 1.5ms while delivering the proper fuel mixture). There are also many new features that can be easily added to Motronic if desired.

I can give live demos if anyone is interested.

As far as marketing it as a product, there is still a little work to be done and there are many ways the system can be configured (simple chip with data logging to full blown realtime control). I have logged about 3k miles on the system so far with no problems. The one main item I need to address currently is cooling inside Motronic since the parts I use don't have automotive specs.
TT is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 04:09 PM
  #24  
rcldesign
User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 457
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

TT,

I am to assume that your software also uses some sort of hardware emulator for real-time programming? Or when you say Motronic, are you not talking about the stock DME?
rcldesign is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 05:28 PM
  #25  
TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

It replaces the EPROM but remains inside the DME during normal use. It stores up to 8 8Kb ROM images selectable by an external rotary switch which I have mounted in the glove box. The DB9 for the serial port is also there. You can change images using the switch and restarting the engine. The laptop interface allows uploading permanent images, a temporary running image or editing the currently running image.

When the editing software is not detected, it outputs a continuous data stream with all the variables being monitored. That can be collected by my monitoring program or with any device that can capture and save the raw serial data.

The monitor interface looks like this (89 951 w/native mode MAF (24lb 75mm bullet), mostly stock fuel maps (WOT map enriched in the last 4 cells), stock ignition maps, 65lb injectors, 2.5bar FPR, 6720 redline) (please ignore the Ve output since I do not have an intake manifold temp sensor installed yet)

<img src="http://mywpages.comcast.net/twthacker/MOMON.JPG" alt=" - " />

And this is what goes inside the DME (sorry for the fuzzy picture, the camera sucks):

<img src="http://mywpages.comcast.net/twthacker/MSLEP.JPG" alt=" - " />

BTW: does anyone have a stock intake manifold side intercooler pipe they want to sell? (or get rid of?)
TT is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 05:34 PM
  #26  
Steve Lavigne
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,805
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

WOWOWOWOWOWOWOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've read your posts and knew you were up to some pretty cool things.

I NEED THIS!

Can you sell it at a price that is price competitive with the other solutions out there?
Steve Lavigne is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 05:35 PM
  #27  
Steve Lavigne
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,805
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">Originally posted by rcldesign:
<strong>TT - is that Motec software? I looked on the Motec website and all they had was some dos - based software. Or are those screen shots from something else?</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">Motec now has Windows software for their M800 line.
Steve Lavigne is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 05:49 PM
  #28  
Steve Lavigne
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,805
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">Originally posted by TT:
<strong>BTW: does anyone have a stock intake manifold side intercooler pipe they want to sell? (or get rid of?)</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">I don't, but it looks like you added support for an additional sensor which you have labeled 'intake temp'. Is this just for logging, or were you able to create an additional compensation table?

Have you done work with the KLR so that you can log its operation and control the cycling valve mapping?

EDIT: Noticed that you DO have a manifold pressure gauge.

Bravo, time to turn all that work into $$$$$!
Steve Lavigne is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 06:08 PM
  #29  
TT
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Huntingtown, MD
Posts: 363
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

The intake manifold temp sensor input is for monitoring purposes only for now. I use that info to calculate the Ve for the engine. Right now the calculation uses the VAF temp so it is only valid for non boosted operation. I have toyed with the idea of doing MAP using the stock DME, but the MAF is just so much easier.

As far as the KLR, no I have not really attacked that beast. I figured there are already boost controllers (manual to electronic) that already are more than capable of doing that job and I did not want to upset the knock operation of the DME/KLR combo. I have tried to keep the operation of the MSLEP system as simple as possible. It has one primary purpose, which is to get Motronic running with code at startup. After that it can crap out and the engine will still run.

I also designed the board so that it can be installed outside the DME if real time editing is not desired. Just run one of my diagnostic equipped DME chips and you can monitor the output just like the embedded board.

Now to see if Steve's and rcldesign's avatars can battle it out again in back to back posts on the same page.
TT is offline  
Old 07-12-2003, 06:37 PM
  #30  
Steve Lavigne
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,805
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">Originally posted by TT:
<strong>Now to see if Steve's and rcldesign's avatars can battle it out again in back to back posts on the same page.</strong></font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana,Tahoma,Helvetica">Looks like it won't happen again. My avatar has, um, changed.
Steve Lavigne is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: