Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

engine cutting out - at the end of my rope (long)

Old 08-18-2008, 08:33 AM
jerome951
Drifting

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Finally resolved - engine cutting out - at the end of my rope (long)

Well, I think I fixed my cutting-out issue. I've driven the car about 10 times with nary a stumble.

I replaced the main engine wiring harness with another used one and this seems to have done the trick. Now, let's hope it goes at least 1 track season without causing me problems.

So, moral of the story. After you've exhausted all logical options to resolve a problem, look at the illogical ones.

Special thanks to Chris Prack for advice and the wiring harness, and thanks to all those who offered ideas on possible causes.

Later,
Jerome
Hey Guys,
Hoping someone can shed some light on my engine cutting out problem. I've been battling this for ~2 years and this past weekend was the worse it's every been.

Here's some video from this past weekend where I've focused on the tach. Hopefully this sheds some light.
http://members.rennlist.com/jwelte/engine_cutout.wmv

The car:
'89 951. Stock engine controls (DME, AFM, etc.), setup for club racing

Symptoms:
*Random engine cutout. Sometimes is temporary (only a hesitation or brief cut, sometimes engine dies). When engine dies, warning exclamation (!) light comes on. Sometimes will restart itself if I'm still rolling, sometimes key has to be recycled and it will restart.
*Frequently tach swings when it cuts out but not always, especially when it flat out dies
*Mostly happens under full throttle, but has happened at idle and while cruising
*Twice, the RPMs jumped ~500-600 very quickly (as in instantaneously, much faster than a slipping clutch) while accelerating then dropped back down instantaneously after a second.