Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

$2,500 to spend on suspension upgrades - what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2008, 11:02 PM
fbgh2o
Odd Posts
Rennlist Member

Received 51 Likes on 27 Posts
Question $2,500 to spend on suspension upgrades - what to do?

I have been reading everything on the site for the last couple of weeks and am overwhelmed by the amount of content and information on the subject - especially since some of you are mind bogglingly advanced. I have set a budget for my suspension upgrades of $2,500, but really do not have a good idea where to start. I want to do all the work myself and create a successful learning experience.

Here are my objectives and current suspension set up:
  1. Car will be used mainly as a street car and needs to be able to deal with the poor quality Canadian roads
  2. I am actively considering starting DE next year, but am a complete novice
  3. The current suspension is completely stock and probably original - with factory Koni sport shocks which seem okay
  4. I have a set of 16" PDs (7" front and 8" rear) and a set of 17" Cup 1 replicas and was thinking of setting up the car with the PDs due to the "softness" of the replicas

I assume that spring, shocks, and sway bar upgrades (M030) are in the cards. Additionally I should probably invest in new bushings all the way around as well as new ball joints and tie rods, but how should I prioritize these investments (expenses) to maximize the benefits? What about things like struts braces, camber plates etc.?

Many thanks
Old 06-17-2008, 11:05 PM
Darwantae951

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts

KW v3
Old 06-17-2008, 11:22 PM
jasonlp
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by fbgh2o