AFM Help - Page 2 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

AFM Help

Old 10-16-2018, 04:39 PM
  #16  
divil
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
divil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,384
Default

Originally Posted by Dan Martinic View Post
Yes, I thought the same, and recently I installed new cap, rotor (Bosch), plugs, and just last week, wires.

No difference. Plugs are carbon fouling pretty quickly though!! Dry black crud covered already.

What's holding me back from the wideband is removing a freshly installed exhaust to get the bung. Can wideband be temp installed in stock O2 location, for diagnosis purposes? I think I know the answer.......
You can definitely install a wideband O2 sensor without removing the exhaust. I did it using an AEM No Weld O2 sensor mount. Thread here.

I did have use a right angled drill attachment, and I had to unmount the starter and hang it out of the way, but that's still way less hassle than dropping the exhaust.
divil is offline  
Old 10-16-2018, 07:45 PM
  #17  
Dan Martinic
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Dan Martinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,118
Default

Very interesting read thanks John!

Does the clamp disturb airflow or whistle? Just kidding. Looks good and I might go for it. Given the issues you had, what size would you recommend for stock pipe?
Dan Martinic is online now  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:15 PM
  #18  
divil
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
divil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,384
Default

Originally Posted by Dan Martinic View Post
Very interesting read thanks John!

Does the clamp disturb airflow or whistle? Just kidding. Looks good and I might go for it. Given the issues you had, what size would you recommend for stock pipe?
I think if I was doing again I'd try the next size up from mine. I think the one I used was for up to 3".
divil is offline  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:19 PM
  #19  
Dan Martinic
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Dan Martinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,118
Default

Originally Posted by divil View Post
I think if I was doing again I'd try the next size up from mine. I think the one I used was for up to 3".
Oh, ok. You'd think the 'up to 3" ' would at least fit the stock 2.5" lol

Thanks; I'll look into this some more
Dan Martinic is online now  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:25 PM
  #20  
divil
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
divil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,384
Default

Originally Posted by Dan Martinic View Post
Oh, ok. You'd think the 'up to 3" ' would at least fit the stock 2.5" lol

Thanks; I'll look into this some more
Well my exhaust is 3" so it probably would be fine with with the stock size. IIRC the next size up was for a range slightly above 3", so I had to assume the "up to 3" size was the right one. With all that said, it did work and I've had no issues with leaks.
divil is offline  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:25 PM
  #21  
Dan Martinic
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Dan Martinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,118
Default

My other option is this: I have my old cat complete and the piping is in very good shape; there's just some stuff falling out of the cat (though remarkably, after I installed a 'brand-new 30 year old one', my emissions test got slightly worse and I didn't pass until I replaced the HG and OPRV housing seal!). Now that our Government is *removing* emissions testing (yes, you read that right), I'm wondering if I should "clean out" the old cat, have the bung installed, and perhaps enjoy WB02 with I'm assuming will be better performance?
Dan Martinic is online now  
Old 10-16-2018, 09:13 PM
  #22  
Dan Martinic
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Dan Martinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,118
Default

Originally Posted by divil View Post
Well my exhaust is 3" so it probably would be fine with with the stock size. IIRC the next size up was for a range slightly above 3", so I had to assume the "up to 3" size was the right one. With all that said, it did work and I've had no issues with leaks.
Super thanks
Dan Martinic is online now  
Old 10-26-2018, 07:31 PM
  #23  
Dan Martinic
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Dan Martinic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,118
Default

Originally Posted by Tom M'Guinn View Post
I just meant a wideband that you installed temporarily for diagnostic purposes, if you aren't into having it all the time.

Tough to test for weak ignition -- and symptoms usually first appear under heavy throttle, so your symptoms don't really line up. You can look at the condition of the cap, rotor, plugs and wires, but sometimes they can all look fine and still causes missing, etc., so I tend to change them every 2 or 3 years for good orders sake. It's often the wires that go overlooked.
Not sure if I posted this resolution, but after I spray-cleaned the AFM with electronics contact cleaner and bent the contact arms inside to a new spot on the carbon strip, my cold-start hesitation issue has disappeared... and significantly better throttle response esp. lower rpm!

Big difference. Even the exhaust popping has all but disappeared. Odd though: the AFM tested just fine even using the oscilloscope.

There are some things on these old cars that test right but still fail..........

No wonder so many of the aftermarket "upgrades" are crazy effective: they replace parts no longer working as they once did!
Dan Martinic is online now  


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: