Experience with Racepak Dashes? - Page 2 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

Experience with Racepak Dashes?

Reply

Old 01-14-2018, 01:15 AM
  #16  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Again, bike technology, but this fellow explains a bit about motorbike "learning" tech:
Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 01:00 PM
  #17  
Tom M'Guinn
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Tom M'Guinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Just CA Now :)
Posts: 10,314
Default

I was able to calculate which gear the car was in based on the ratio of speedometer to tachometer pulses, as part of a now back-burner boost controller project. See demo video below. I had the benefit of knowing the gearing in advance, but you'd only need to run through the gears a few times for the processor to "learn" the gears. If you need help adapting any of the gauge sensors (fuel, etc.), I'm sure we could make an adapter box or two. I'm looking forward to seeing your "lean angle"

Tom M'Guinn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 04:41 AM
  #18  
ealoken
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 769
Default

I have some friends that has this in their racecars, and it always works flawless.
ealoken is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 07:38 AM
  #19  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Tom, Thanks for your video... it's inspiring!
I like the LED lights also. You are obviously a smart and skilled fella.
I will definitely keep you in mind as a resource if the gauge isn't compatible. Many thanks!!
Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2018, 04:43 PM
  #20  
Raceboy
User
 
Raceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 1,574
Default

Gee, lol @ Motec 820USD for 250mb storage And then people recommend going Motec for a hot street car when someone asks which ECU to use. Usually in USA when people mean standalone most mean Motec (as in it is a synonym for standalone :P ).

Nowadays there are so many nice options for dashes like RealDash etc that work on Android and one can buy a 7" tablet and use that as a dash, everything is freely configurable etc.
Raceboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2018, 03:38 AM
  #21  
ealoken
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 769
Default

Originally Posted by Raceboy View Post
Gee, lol @ Motec 820USD for 250mb storage And then people recommend going Motec for a hot street car when someone asks which ECU to use. Usually in USA when people mean standalone most mean Motec (as in it is a synonym for standalone :P ).

Nowadays there are so many nice options for dashes like RealDash etc that work on Android and one can buy a 7" tablet and use that as a dash, everything is freely configurable etc.
<- motec :P
ealoken is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 01:30 AM
  #22  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Hahaha.. that's funny. I wanna Motec exhaust too!
I got the order in a week. Fast shipping!

Just quickly tie wrapped to the wheel, will need to make a simple bracket.

Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 01:58 AM
  #23  
rlm328
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rlm328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,375
Default

That is going to be a pain to read. A lot of the time you do not have a choice of when you glance at your dash. It will not always be on a straight...Warning lights always in a different place. But each to his own. Good luck
rlm328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 10:30 AM
  #24  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Originally Posted by rlm328 View Post
That is going to be a pain to read. A lot of the time you do not have a choice of when you glance at your dash. It will not always be on a straight...Warning lights always in a different place. But each to his own. Good luck
I wont be attaching it to the steering column, hence why I need to make a bracket. The device needs to be with in reach of the driver because there are 2 buttons. I think it looks nice and is just about the perfect size.
Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 10:52 AM
  #25  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Darn, there are some neat products being designed nowadays!

https://www.demon-tweeks.co.uk/motor...control-system
Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 03:40 PM
  #26  
Noahs944
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Noahs944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,706
Default

Hey does anyone know if this plug I tapped into is filtered oil? Thanks.
Noahs944 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Experience with Racepak Dashes?


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: