944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

power steer reservoir leak frm return hose

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2016, 12:51 PM
svx604
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default power steer reservoir leak frm return hose

I replaced the reservoir with a zf brand (from eBay). And replaced the rubber hoses from top of the metal flange as well but the hose connection at reservoir (return side) still leaks a little.
I am an x mechanic and haven't encountered such a stubborn leak from a simple connection.
Basically the new parts replicated the original problem.
Old 08-25-2016, 11:42 PM
svx604
Track Day

Am I the only one that's got a (minor) leak from this location? I'm wanting to fix it 100% so it doesn't dribble down to the sway bar bushings...
Old 08-26-2016, 01:06 PM
KevinGross
Rennlist Member

Received 154 Likes on 101 Posts

Common problem. Porsche issued a TSB years ago recommending replacing the solid band clamps (fuel line style) with Zebra hose clamps. Of course with the roll edges that won't cut into the hose.
Old 08-26-2016, 01:38 PM
svx604
Track Day

Thanks, but actually I'm already using zebra style clamps right now (though not the style that doesn't cut-I'll look for them online) and they still leak.
Old 08-27-2016, 09:33 AM
mro763
Intermediate

I had the same problem about a year ago. I had a small leak from one of the hoses (small crack) near the clamp. Replaced the reservoir, the hose and still had a small leak on the return side which was weird. I torqued the clamp and made sure the hose was snug on the reservoir entry tube. The leak almost stopped but I still had a small leak. I replaced the other hose and the leak then stopped. Also check all the clamps in the entire power steering system. I found a small leak two weeks ago, where a clamp was missing. You could always put back the original reservoir and see if that makes a difference. Good luck.
Old 08-27-2016, 12:24 PM
svx604
Track Day

Originally Posted by mro763