1983 944 won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2001, 09:30 AM
biker45
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 1983 944 won't start

Hello;

I have a 944 that haas not been started in 3 years. I have put in fresh gas, new cap/rotor, and plugs, battery. And it will not start. I have checked the voltages and resistances suggested in the haynes manual for air flow, throttle position and injectors (every thing is ok).

I took off the large nut at the end of the fuel rail and got some light tea colored gas pumping out when i turned it over.

The thing that bugs me is after 3-4 10 second attempts to start the engine i still cannot smell gas on my plugs.

I am new to these cars and i must be missing something basic. I have checked all teh fuses and I am running out of ideas but i think the prob has to be fuel related.

any good ideas folks?? thanks jp
Old 11-03-2001, 05:50 PM
User 462021
Banned

Received 160 Likes on 122 Posts
Maybe the injectors are clogged. Take them out and have a shop clean them.
Old 11-04-2001, 01:48 AM
newoldguy
Instructor

Let's hope its just this simple. When I was having trouble with no start condition this summer, it apparently was fixed when I took apart every damn connector I could get my hands on, including the DME connector, sprayed the male and female parts with contact cleaner (got it at NAPA) and re-connected everything. Starts now and I didn't replace anything. Go figure.
Old 11-04-2001, 08:54 AM
biker45
3rd Gear

Originally posted by biker45:
<STRONG>Hello;

I have a 944 that haas not been started in 3 years. I have put in fresh gas, new cap/rotor, and plugs, battery. And it will not start. I have checked the voltages and resistances suggested in the haynes manual for air flow, throttle position and injectors (every thing is ok).

I took off the large nut at the end of the fuel rail and got some light tea colored gas pumping out when i turned it over.