944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

New to the 944 deal

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2002, 05:12 PM
JediAgent
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post New to the 944 deal

Hi guys, im new to the whole 944 world. I just bought an 86 944 8v N/A that is in superb condition and i was wondering what would be the best way in your experienced opinions on how to get the performance up for not so much cash (im a college student) I've got a good mechanic so dont hesitate to give shop-intensive advise. My first thought was to get an Autothority chip and K&N air filter setup, but what else?

I was also thinking of putting a Turbo/S2 front end on the car to make it look more powerful and maybe 17" 968 rims, but thats all after my spring bill gets paid.
Old 03-18-2002, 05:49 PM
944-SS4Vegeta
AutoX

Thumbs up

The best choice you have ever made. !!!
Congratulations for your car and welcome to the community.

I have a 944 1988 red / 90k.
I have the chip and the K&N too.
The next step that i recomend for not a lot of money would be a Performance Throttle Body and Performance Fuel pressure regulator. Then Headers and a complete Exhaust system.

You'll improve a lot with this.
I had my car since stock and i added all the parts i mentioned to you one by one.... I saw my car get more powerful everytime something was added. I'm at about 202 ponies dyno tested.

After this comes all the expensive upgrades , so i would recomend you start with that .

Good luck.

944-ss4vegeta.
Old 03-18-2002, 07:39 PM
Skip
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
[quote]Originally posted by 944-SS4Vegeta:
<strong>I have a 944 1988 red / 90k.
I have the chip and the K&N too.
The next step that i recomend for not a lot of money would be a Performance Throttle Body and Performance Fuel pressure regulator. Then Headers and a complete Exhaust system.

I'm at about 202 ponies dyno tested.</strong><hr></blockquote>