944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

944 start problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2004, 05:58 PM
944SM
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 944 start problem

I'm new to this fourm and have been previously using it to help me in trouble-shooting my son-in-laws "new" 944 hoping to help him in getting it on the road. I was not successful in finding the same problem posted. It was always "successful start then either running rough or stalling." This car runs perfectly once it is assisted with the "whiff of juice". The problem is the car will not start either hot/cold without just a "whiff" of starting fluid a this time. It was purchased as a "tired of it not starting and finally died car". The car was running and intermittently would not start. When it did it ran fine. It would always crank, but not fire up.The car was sitting for approx 3 months when he purchased it. I have all the records back from when it was purchased and all maintenance records. It was very well taken care of. I diagnosed at first that it was not getting spark. I have repaired/replaced the following over the last 2 months:
1. New coil,wires,plugs,rotor cap.
2. Rebuilt DME-(Attained spark)
3. New battery,hoses, belts,etc.
4. New injector seals and cap.
5. Re-soldered DME Relay circuit connections.
6. Engine compartment grounds all removed and cleaned.