Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2019, 10:31 PM
Janco126
7th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Porsche 944 Fuel Tank Drop

1986 Porsche 944 NA

Hey all,
Some quick backstory. This is my first Porsche, I have been working on this project for about 6 months now. I've been around cars but this is my first project car. I've used this forum a great deal and have learned a good amount via the threads. Unfortunately, I am having a difficult time removing the fuel tank from the car and couldn't find much on it. This car sat for sometime and the fuel system suffered a good amount. The car would start and run but had no acceleration. After diagnosing the issue, the fuel system came out to be the problem. I did the best I could cleaning the tank out, new fuel pump, fuel filter, flushed the fuel lines, injectors cleaned, fuel rail was completely rusted, so new rail, damper & regulator. I thought that would do the trick, so I hit the road and for what felt like 3 minutes and the car ran great, solid acceleration (until it didn't), I limped it home. Pulled the fuel rail, injectors were clogged again. Drained the fuel, pulled the fuel sender unit and it looked like I didn't even clean it. So, I decided to remove the tank. Odd enough I have found dropping the transmission easier than removing the fuel tank. I have been working it back and forth for a few hours trying to drop it but I keep getting hung up on the brackets on the sides of the frame. It started digging into the side of the tank so I stopped for now to prevent damage. Everywhere I read, seems to say just wiggle the tank, but there has to be something I am doing wrong. Has someone done this before and have tips or tricks to making this happen?

I have to include a car photo as well!

Thanks,
Joe
Old 03-10-2019, 04:34 PM
Janco126
7th Gear