Notices
944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

New Owner 1984 NA/India Red/ in Chicago..novice mech... what would you do.

Old 06-15-2018, 12:51 PM
WC944
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New Owner 1984 NA/India Red/ in Chicago..novice mech... what would you do.

Proud to say I'm a new owner (of 2 weeks) of a 1984 944 NA.. in pretty decent shape..but no real records. The motor runs fine and is fun to drive. I'll be posting some photos later today. 117K miles. I acquired this car on what some would consider a "whim", as I'm new to the world of 944's.. but what a beautiful car... Fuchs wheels. The body is in pretty good shape but will need a paint job, but likely the least of my worries at this point. Yesterday I did get it inspected by a reputable mechanic in Evanston and I was able to see the underside for the first time. Of course some issues are obvious...some are urgent.. and some fixes are down the road.

I've not been doing any mechanical work on cars for about the last 35-40 years.. so I'm rusty at best but would like to try to do what I can and don't mind getting my knuckles busted now and again... yep, I do plan on investing in some tools, but I'm also very interested in finding folks in the Chicago area who have some of the more specialized tools or are willing to help in some capacity with some of the work. Of course I'm willing to help others and have experience holding a light.