944 & 944S Forum 1982-1991

Need Advice - Buying new 944

Old 03-27-2018, 12:41 PM
ralfie
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Advice - Buying new 944

Hi all,

I have been lurking around here for the past few months researching whether or not getting into the world of 944 is right for me. I am not too experienced with doing my own work on cars but want to learn and it seems like the community around here is pretty great for that. I went and checked this one out the other day and it is very well kept cosmetically but has some mechanical things that give me pause so I wanted to hear your guy's thoughts on them before I committed or moved on.

The first thing that is a problem is that the last time the timing belt was changed was 2001. Obviously that is an easy fix, but it bears noting since they seem to be asking a lot for a 944 with big maintenance needed. Second, when going through the records I saw that it looked like the odometer was repaired around 2011 so it seems like the mileage may actually be unknown. Lastly, it seems like there is a sizable oil leak somewhere. Unfortunately I didn't get pictures but here is a description of what I noticed. When I inspected the car I saw that there was a small oil leak from the exhaust manifold at cylinder 2 closest to the firewall. While driving it I smelled some burning oil so afterwards I put it up on a lift and there was a large amount of oil all over the bottom of the engine in the front. It seemed to be coming from somewhere else but I am not sure where. Also, when driving the engine seemed to whine and be higher pitched than I expected. Is this something that could be caused by old belts?

Ultimately, should the multiple oil leaks be a big red flag? And do you guys think it is a reasonable car for the price?

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-28-2018, 03:00 PM
Pin It
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts