Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Possible cheap coolant level sensor replacement?

 
Old 04-25-2016, 12:54 PM
  #91  
ROG100
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
ROG100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Double Oak, TX
Posts: 15,660
Default

Sort of response I expected from you - we tested it electrically but not in a 928 because it would not fit. Just trying to be positive - I would fit one before you make a lot of parts - trial installation and hook it up to a 928 harness and make sure the light works on the dash. Simple stuff. I think it will work but better to prove it first.
__________________


Does it have the "Do It Yourself" manual transmission, or the superior "Fully Equipped by Porsche" Automatic Transmission? George Layton March 2014

928 Owners are ".....a secret sect of quietly assured Porsche pragmatists who in near anonymity appreciate the prodigious, easy going prowess of the 928."
ROG100 is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 01:07 PM
  #92  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,487
Default

Originally Posted by Jerry Feather View Post
Yeh, I guess you missed it. A couple of guys named ROG100 and Sean tested it and found that it works electrically, but that it will show low level of coolant at a slightly different level, which was no show stopper. Check out posts 38 and 40 above.
The hell sorta response is this? I never plugged it in to a 928, in to a 928 connector and sure didn't test to see if it worked.

Nevermind, Rog addressed it.
SeanR is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 03:59 PM
  #93  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

Originally Posted by SeanR View Post
The hell sorta response is this? I never plugged it in to a 928, in to a 928 connector and sure didn't test to see if it worked.

Nevermind, Rog addressed it.
Yes, I know. I was just pulling your chains.
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 09:59 PM
  #94  
ROG100
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
ROG100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Double Oak, TX
Posts: 15,660
Default

I tracked down a better quality part from a more reliable wholesaler. Part comes with the cap but as already defined it does not work however easily removed.
Once we know the part works in anger on a 928 and coupled with Jerry's parts we should have a winner.

New unit (with cap) next to old unit
Attached Images  
__________________


Does it have the "Do It Yourself" manual transmission, or the superior "Fully Equipped by Porsche" Automatic Transmission? George Layton March 2014

928 Owners are ".....a secret sect of quietly assured Porsche pragmatists who in near anonymity appreciate the prodigious, easy going prowess of the 928."
ROG100 is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 10:29 PM
  #95  
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User
 
Imo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21,078
Default

Is it going to be accurate?
Imo000 is offline  
Old 04-25-2016, 10:42 PM
  #96  
ROG100
Addict
Rennlist Member


Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
ROG100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Double Oak, TX
Posts: 15,660
Default

Is it going to be accurate?
Just has to tell you when the level drops below a certain point and as long as that point is approx. at the half way point on the expansion tank it will be WAY accurate enough.

If it is accurate enough for the same function in BMW's I think it will be accurate enough for a 928.
__________________


Does it have the "Do It Yourself" manual transmission, or the superior "Fully Equipped by Porsche" Automatic Transmission? George Layton March 2014

928 Owners are ".....a secret sect of quietly assured Porsche pragmatists who in near anonymity appreciate the prodigious, easy going prowess of the 928."
ROG100 is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 12:11 PM
  #97  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

I found a source for the compound to make the seals out of. They recommend Nitrile. Then they gave me a quote to make the seals for me, but with the cost of "engineering" it makes them too expensive for the modest quantity needed for this project.

Then, last night, it occurred to me that I can do this with only one seal, the larger one for the top of the coolant bottle. What that requires is to simply glue the sealing ring I have made to the under side of the flange around the top of the new sender; then there is no need to seal the surface between the top of the sender and the cap.

I'm going to order a sheet of nitrile and then make the cutting die in my lathe and make some seals. That is, as soon as I complete the testing of these senders in the 928.

Last edited by Jerry Feather; 04-28-2016 at 11:04 AM.
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 04-26-2016, 05:37 PM
  #98  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

Well, I haven't done the 928 test yet, but I went ahead and made my seal-cutting die in my lathe. Here are some pictures of it with the other stuff so far.
Attached Images    
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 05-01-2016, 06:39 PM
  #99  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

I'm still waiting on the material for the seals. Then, now that it is a new month I can order the delrin for the caps and have that show up on next month's credit card bill. I hope I have the seal cutter sharp enough; but if not I can turn it again in the lathe. It is long enough so that I ought to be able to make several new blades on it if needed before I finish.
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 05-12-2016, 08:10 PM
  #100  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

The Nitrile finally showed up after over two weeks since I ordered it, but it looks like pretty good material. I tried my seal cutting die on it and made a few seals, but I think my die is too sharp for as low grade of steel as I had to make it out of, so after just a few of these it is dull. I'm going to sharpen it and try some more, but I think I will be able to get plenty out of this material to meet our needs for a long time.

Here is a picture of the few that I have made so far.

I haven't ordered the delrin for the new caps yet but will probably in the next week.
Attached Images  

Last edited by Jerry Feather; 09-04-2016 at 05:34 PM.
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 05-12-2016, 08:20 PM
  #101  
MjRocket
Super User
Thread Starter
 
MjRocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Wayne IN.
Posts: 2,154
Default

Nice!
MjRocket is offline  
Old 05-12-2016, 10:17 PM
  #102  
M. Requin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
M. Requin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 3,375
Default

Hi Jerry, can you try case-hardening the cutting end of the punch?
M. Requin is offline  
Old 05-12-2016, 10:33 PM
  #103  
Jerry Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Jerry Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: 2706 Skyline Drive, Grand Junction CO 81506
Posts: 4,542
Default

Originally Posted by M. Requin View Post
Hi Jerry, can you try case-hardening the cutting end of the punch?
Possible, but I haven't done that since my basic welding and forging class, back in the day.

I think I can sharpen it differently than I did the first time so that the cutting edge lasts better. I had the outer edge turned pretty thin and very sharp, but the inner cutter was more (less?) tapered and kind of blunt. The inner cutting edge actually is surviving very well and cuts pretty nicely the way it is. However, in order to sharpen the outer one I need to do both so that they cut on the same plane.

Even if I have to sharpen them a few times it will be less trouble than trying to figure out how to case harden them.

Last edited by Jerry Feather; 05-13-2016 at 12:10 PM.
Jerry Feather is offline  
Old 05-13-2016, 10:04 AM
  #104  
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User
 
Imo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21,078
Default

Heat the end up red hot and dump it in a bucket of used engine oil.
Imo000 is offline  
Old 05-31-2016, 05:13 AM
  #105  
scottpeterd
User
 
scottpeterd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Uganda
Posts: 56
Default

Any updates on this? I'd love to try one as I've got my coolant tank out for service.

Cheers
scottpeterd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Possible cheap coolant level sensor replacement?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: