Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   928 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum-69/)
-   -   Tearing down enging, first timer (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum/856625-tearing-down-enging-first-timer.html)

Thoomas 02-02-2015 01:24 PM

Tearing down enging, first timer

Hi guys!

I have the engine out for a complete teardown and rebuild. Its my first time ever to go inside an engine. I would be very thankful for your help along the way.

I´m about to lift the heads and in WSM they mention some special tools. Do I need to use those or can I go without or with something else?

Heres from the WSM:

https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/rennlis...4f4e1fff44.jpg

Cheers

Ad0911 02-02-2015 02:35 PM

Are you sure you want to take it apart completly? If axial play of the crankshaft is within spec of the wsm, just leave it. Unless you have a real good reason not to

Leon Speed 02-02-2015 03:27 PM

You don't them for disassembly since they are for assembly purposes. Disassemble the cams evenly loosen the cam caps one turn at a time as not to put too much pressure in one spot.

Thoomas 02-02-2015 04:12 PM

Thanx Leon!
Will take it step by step then.

One of the cam sprocket won't come off. It seems to be a little rust that's holding it to the cam shaft. I don't want to use to much force on it to get it of. Anyone got a good advice on this?

Jetdriver69 02-02-2015 04:26 PM

Soak the cam gear with a penetrating oil like PB Blaster if it really stuck.

Try wiggling the cam gear back and forth and it may come loose.

It is it really stuck, you can use a two arm gear puller to free the gear.

One of mine was stuck an I used a combination of penetrating oil and a small crowbar from behind the gear to gently wiggle it loose.

On reassembly use a little bit of anti seize to ensure it won't stick again.

Thoomas 02-02-2015 04:48 PM

Originally Posted by Ad0911 (Post 12006811)