Bowden cable question - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Bowden cable question

 
Old 02-14-2013, 02:37 PM
  #1  
Ducman82
Thread Starter
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default Bowden cable question

maybe you aircraft people can help me with this. i am working on a console redo and moving my manual HVAC down. SOOO i need a sleeved cable that can take a few bends...... to replace the stock hot/cold cable...
i have tried the generic throttle cable kind... to stiff.


thoughts?
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:51 PM
  #2  
Bilal928S4
Super User
 
Bilal928S4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Canaan, CT
Posts: 2,847
Default

Bicycle brake cable or gear shift cable.??
Bilal928S4 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:28 PM
  #3  
longleader
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
longleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 431
Default

Originally Posted by Bilal928S4 View Post
Bicycle brake cable or gear shift cable.??
I was thinking the same thing, the setup on my MTB bike rocks, I'll look around and see what I have this weekend if you can wait a few days.
How tight of a bend do you need to make?

If not check this out, http://www.performancebike.com/bikes...400928__400928

Or you can look on the low end, http://www.performancebike.com/bikes...400928__400928

Last edited by longleader; 02-14-2013 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Added Question
longleader is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:15 PM
  #4  
tailpipe
User
 
tailpipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Thorndale Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,020
Default

If you buy bicycle cables pay a little extra and get the stainless cable and sheaths the regular ones always rust. the longest ones are made for the bicycles built for two thats what I buy (extra long) I use them mostly for hood cables. When you are there see if they have the aluminium crimp furls so you can make a loop or lump on the ends to attach it with. If not most Fastener centers, Princess auto (Can)or Harbour Freight have the furls.
tailpipe is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:14 PM
  #5  
Ducman82
Thread Starter
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default

I am in no hurry. The bends are not to tight , just a few of them. I also need to fab up a bracket or hold down on the head unit , Do to the snap thing that holds the cable down broke. But that's easy.
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:17 PM
  #6  
awilli6
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
awilli6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Memphis, TN 1987 S4
Posts: 643
Default

Hey ducman, what do u do at WPAFB? Are u in the service?
awilli6 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:18 PM
  #7  
ZEUS+
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ZEUS+'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester,NH
Posts: 1,202
Default

Bicycle cables are strand type cables. The calipers and derailleurs have springs to keep them taught. They could flex where the cable exits the housing, resulting in poor lever movement/control. A solid type cable wont flex. Perhaps a universal choke cable or adapting a longer one from another vehicle.
ZEUS+ is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:18 PM
  #8  
Ducman82
Thread Starter
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default

I was in. My wife is currently going to AFIT for her masters in physics...
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 02:28 AM
  #9  
tailpipe
User
 
tailpipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Thorndale Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,020
Default

If you want solid stainless wire inside the sheath it can be bought by the role from wicks aircraft supply they use it for tie wiring nuts and bolts on aircraft just order the size you need. For short runs you can use stainless tig welding wire but its only 36 inches long.
tailpipe is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 09:15 AM
  #10  
Ducman82
Thread Starter
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default

I only need something like 8-9 inches... But a smooth glide is the main thing....
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 02-16-2013, 08:04 PM
  #11  
longleader
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
longleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Spring Hill Fl
Posts: 431
Default

Just got done looking around, I guess I used all the cable I had, sorry I can't help you this time.
longleader is offline  
Old 06-02-2013, 12:30 PM
  #12  
Ducman82
Thread Starter
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default

Bicycle cable. Strands are coated, housing is coated on the inside, worked perfect!
Ducman82 is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bowden cable question


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: