Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 928 Forum
Reload this Page >

Is it possible to adjust the TPS on a 32V without removing the intake?

Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Is it possible to adjust the TPS on a 32V without removing the intake?

 
Old 05-21-2011, 11:28 PM
  #1  
SQLGuy
User
Thread Starter
 
SQLGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 1,297
Default Is it possible to adjust the TPS on a 32V without removing the intake?

Hi folks,

First of all, is there a good test procedure for the point at which the idle switch opens on a 32V car? Mine opens after the throttle (at the manifold bracket) is pulled about 5mm. The reason I'm concerned about it is that I think that, with the extra air being supplied by the Murf kit, the idle switch open point is pretty much at the point the throttle needs to be for cruising at 3K RPM.

I'd like to try moving the point at which it opens back a bit so it opens as close as possible after the throttle butterfly moves off the stop. The switch, along with the throttle body itself, looks to be pretty buried under the manifold, though. Anyone know whether adjustment is possible in situ?

Thanks,
Paul
SQLGuy is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 11:56 PM
  #2  
blown 87
Rest in Peace
Rennlist Member
 
blown 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bird lover in Sharpsburg
Posts: 9,903
Default

Yes, it can be adjusted in place, we just did mine Friday, but you have to have very skinny hands and a wrench with a bit in it to gain access.
not fun, but then again taking the intake off does not sound like a fun day either, and even more so if the hoses are old, just from a cost standpoint.
blown 87 is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:03 AM
  #3  
Rick Carter
Contributor of Nothing Worthy
Rennlist Member

 
Rick Carter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 9,773
Default

When I had a stock intake I replaced the ISV without removing the intake, it wasn't easy and I had to stand on my head.
Rick Carter is online now  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:11 AM
  #4  
SQLGuy
User
Thread Starter
 
SQLGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 1,297
Default

Thanks Greg.

Now knowing it is possible, I went out and pulled the MAF and took a look down to see what would be involved. I had measured the "lag" at the throttle cable bracket before the switch opened as 4.58mm. However, looking at the butterfly itself, the switch really is opening just as soon as the plate moves from its stop... it's actually about 0.5mm of plate movement before the switch opens.

I would think that's probably OK. What do you think?

Thanks,
Paul
SQLGuy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:11 AM
  #5  
Bill Ball
Under the Lift
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 18,465
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Carter View Post
When I had a stock intake I replaced the ISV without removing the intake, it wasn't easy and I had to stand on my head.
Rick:

I concluded that was not possible! Do you have proof?
Bill Ball is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:26 AM
  #6  
SQLGuy
User
Thread Starter
 
SQLGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 1,297
Default

I could at least see the ISV when I had the water bridge and oil filler off. Not sure I could have replaced it from there, but maybe.
Attached Images  
SQLGuy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 01:14 AM
  #7  
blown 87
Rest in Peace
Rennlist Member
 
blown 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bird lover in Sharpsburg
Posts: 9,903
Default

Originally Posted by SQLGuy View Post
Thanks Greg.

Now knowing it is possible, I went out and pulled the MAF and took a look down to see what would be involved. I had measured the "lag" at the throttle cable bracket before the switch opened as 4.58mm. However, looking at the butterfly itself, the switch really is opening just as soon as the plate moves from its stop... it's actually about 0.5mm of plate movement before the switch opens.

I would think that's probably OK. What do you think?

Thanks,
Paul
You need to back probe the LH unit with the engine hot to see if it is making and breaking the idle switch.
blown 87 is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 01:47 AM
  #8  
Bill Ball
Under the Lift
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 18,465
Default

Originally Posted by SQLGuy View Post
I could at least see the ISV when I had the water bridge and oil filler off. Not sure I could have replaced it from there, but maybe.
SQLGuy: That's cheating! Oh, and I want to warn you.....DO NOT remove the coolant reservoir cap or you could end up like I did once, flushing the oil pan!
Bill Ball is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:01 AM
  #9  
blown 87
Rest in Peace
Rennlist Member
 
blown 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bird lover in Sharpsburg
Posts: 9,903
Default

Originally Posted by Bill Ball View Post
SQLGuy: That's cheating! Oh, and I want to warn you.....DO NOT remove the coolant reservoir cap or you could end up like I did once, flushing the oil pan!
blown 87 is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:35 AM
  #10  
SQLGuy
User
Thread Starter
 
SQLGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 1,297
Default

Originally Posted by blown 87 View Post
You need to back probe the LH unit with the engine hot to see if it is making and breaking the idle switch.
Hmm... you mean you've seen where the switch tests fine at the LH with the engine cold, but changes its behavior with the engine hot?

The problem I'm having is lean spikes, like the LH thinks it's in overrun, when cruising at 2 - 3K. Throttle is very light, but not zero, at that point. Have you seen a hot engine make the idle switch stay closed longer?

I think the easiest thing will be to hook up one of the SSI-4 channels to sense the idle TPS switch (if I can find a reasonable place to tap into that line). Hopefully the LH lets it float enough when it's not closed that I can read it without having to rig up an external pull-up and diode circuit. Anyway, if I can data log this, that will be the best answer to whether the lean spikes are because of false overrun triggering.
SQLGuy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:36 AM
  #11  
Bill Ball
Under the Lift
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 18,465
Default

Originally Posted by blown 87 View Post
Yeah, and notice the coolant drops already on the top of the oil filler opening. Not a good sign.

I did something similar once on a motor that was already drained of oil. A nice gush of coolant came out of the bridge opening and went you know where. I resolved it by dumping 2 quarts of tranny fluid down the oil filler opening. It is a good detergent and water miscible. Drained that. Then finished with 2 quarts of oil and drained that. Argh!
Bill Ball is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:44 AM
  #12  
SQLGuy
User
Thread Starter
 
SQLGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Posts: 1,297
Default

Well, sounds like I maybe got lucky, but I didn't end up dropping more than two or three drops of coolant down the oil filler opening during this process... and all that's back together now.

I did have the lower radiator hose off and the bridge pretty well undone and drained before touching the oil filler bolts, though.

Cheers,
Paul
SQLGuy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:46 AM
  #13  
jcorenman
Super User
 
jcorenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Friday Harbor, WA
Posts: 3,554
Default

Originally Posted by SQLGuy View Post
...
The problem I'm having is lean spikes, like the LH thinks it's in overrun, when cruising at 2 - 3K. Throttle is very light, but not zero, at that point. Have you seen a hot engine make the idle switch stay closed longer?
If the idle switch is right on the threshold (which is sounds like it might be) then it is possible that the idle switch is closing momentarily in very light-throttle cruising.

In Sharktuner, you can un-check the box that says "cut off fuel on deceleration" (Fuel parameters page)-- that avoids any transition issues-- either a cutoff when cruising with a light throttle, or a lag when easing back on the gas after decelerating.

jcorenman is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 02:47 AM
  #14  
Bill Ball
Under the Lift
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 18,465
Default

Originally Posted by SQLGuy View Post
Hmm... you mean you've seen where the switch tests fine at the LH with the engine cold, but changes its behavior with the engine hot?

The problem I'm having is lean spikes, like the LH thinks it's in overrun, when cruising at 2 - 3K. Throttle is very light, but not zero, at that point. Have you seen a hot engine make the idle switch stay closed longer?

I think the easiest thing will be to hook up one of the SSI-4 channels to sense the idle TPS switch (if I can find a reasonable place to tap into that line). Hopefully the LH lets it float enough when it's not closed that I can read it without having to rig up an external pull-up and diode circuit. Anyway, if I can data log this, that will be the best answer to whether the lean spikes are because of false overrun triggering.
Strange, I've been having a similar problem recently. I have a wideband O2 as well as the stock one, although my car is back to stock now (just an x-pipe). Every so often when I accelerate hard and shift or let off the throttle slightly, the wideband readout goes way lean (18-19) and I can feel the stumble. But I am WAY far away from the idle position. If I move the throttle back and forth a bit, it goes back to stoich. So, I have been suspecting a problem with the idle switch as well. But testing the switch just sitting with the motor not running does not show any erratic behavior at all. My plan is to attach a Sharktuner and drive around until I can replicate the problem and log it. It sure feels like it's inappropriately getting an idle throttle position reading. If it is, Sharktuner will show it and I'll replace the switch, even though it's only a few years old.

This is a simple continuity switch which goes open circuit versus ground once off-idle. You can tap it at pin 2 of the LH plug.
Bill Ball is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: