Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Empty shell to finished car

 
Old 08-11-2017, 11:34 PM
  #796  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Originally Posted by 928sg View Post
Carl, You are dead nuts on. Another rennlist member almost replicated my entire car in under 2 years minus the variocam, F50 brakes and Z06 trans... I know how much I spent doing all the work myself and can't imagine what these projects would cost if you paid someone else to do it. I'm 19 years in.... and maybe see the light at the end of the tunnel...
I hear you Sterling. Your project was one of the triggers that made me decide on the GT project, so keep chugging along. Almost there

Carl
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 08-11-2017, 11:36 PM
  #797  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Originally Posted by Mongo View Post
Hey Carl who is fabbing your axles? Dinsdale? xschop?
Andy, I haven't reached out to anyone yet regarding the axles, but I think both gentlemen would be able to do it without problem. I'm not sure who did 77Tony's axles but I'm sure he'll tell you if you send him a PM.

Cheers!
Carl
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 08-12-2017, 07:54 AM
  #798  
slate blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
slate blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,289
Default

Originally Posted by FLYVMO View Post
I guess it depends how much torment one likes to inflict on oneself and what one considers therapy

I all fairness, those 7 years included marriage, divorce, injuries, surgeries, raising a child, horrible work schedule and sticking to a budget, so I would not take my available construction hours as a representation of how long something like this SHOULD take. And the years are definitely not lost, I have expanded my knowledge and skills immensely, and I love the mental challenge.

If money is no object, you could source this out and have it done in less than 2 years realistically. But you would be able to buy a (couple?) brand new 911s for the money spent if you have to pay for labor. So definitely a DIY project in my case.

Cheers!
Carl
I know what you have gone through must be so stressful, I'm sorry to hear that it's been so tough. You must be made from rather stern stuff to keep everything together. Myself, I have had trials and tribulations and I will update my threads in the next month or so but my best advice and this is not directed to Carl, is keep it fairly simple and manageable so that off the road time is minimised and that if things change for you it's not a major dilemma.
slate blue is offline  
Old 08-15-2017, 11:04 PM
  #799  
SpearLazyT
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SpearLazyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 74
Default

"I do not have any additional pictures yet of the finalized pedal/DBW mount, but on my setup, the mechanical linkage is of course removed. I don't think the DBW pedal I currently have will fit with the stock throttle/transmission linkage installed. There are smaller DBW pedal setups available (Corvette) than the Cadillac CTS unit I currently have.
If I remember correctly, you do not have to use a DBW pedal, there are conversion kits that allows a cable controlled throttle body to be used on the LS3, and an external conversion box that takes the mechanical movement and simulates a DBW signal to the ECU."

Was thinking about this on the way home from work. The Chev DBW throttle doesn't really care where it is located or what is the orientation, so I think I will build a bracket such that it is laying on its side above the driver side valve cover so I can pull it with the factory throttle cable. This will allow me to use the cable to operate the factory automatic transmission's throttle valve cable as it was originally. Something like that would work for you to use the factory pedal and the DBW as you want to do.

I would add a couple photos, but cant figure out how to do that.

Steve
SpearLazyT is offline  
Old 08-16-2017, 10:58 AM
  #800  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Originally Posted by slate blue View Post
I know what you have gone through must be so stressful, I'm sorry to hear that it's been so tough. You must be made from rather stern stuff to keep everything together. Myself, I have had trials and tribulations and I will update my threads in the next month or so but my best advice and this is not directed to Carl, is keep it fairly simple and manageable so that off the road time is minimised and that if things change for you it's not a major dilemma.
Wise thoughts, and thank you for the positive words. I hope your trials and hurdles are now in the past, and I am looking forward to seeing your project updates. In the end, as they say, what doesn't kill us, makes us stronger.

Cheers!
Carl
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 08-17-2017, 12:22 AM
  #801  
Dinsdale Piranha
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Dinsdale Piranha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 336
Default Axles

Originally Posted by FLYVMO View Post
Andy, I haven't reached out to anyone yet regarding the axles, but I think both gentlemen would be able to do it without problem. I'm not sure who did 77Tony's axles but I'm sure he'll tell you if you send him a PM.

Cheers!
Carl
Carl, the axles I use are moly 930 sand rail axles from Appletree.

I cut a 2mm snap ring groove on the axle, on the interior side of the CV to keep them from floating.

Don't cut the snap ring groove past the depth of the spline.

A simple job for your friendly neighborhood machinist.

Cheers Dinsdale
Dinsdale Piranha is offline  
Old 08-17-2017, 01:13 AM
  #802  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Originally Posted by Dinsdale Piranha View Post
Carl, the axles I use are moly 930 sand rail axles from Appletree.

I cut a 2mm snap ring groove on the axle, on the interior side of the CV to keep them from floating.

Don't cut the snap ring groove past the depth of the spline.

A simple job for your friendly neighborhood machinist.

Cheers Dinsdale
Thanks Dinsdale,

I'll PM you when I get to that point if you can still source them. Unfortunately the quality of the local neighborhood machinist is well...less than stellar, so I'd rather use someone who has experience with it.

Cheers!
Carl
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 10-11-2017, 10:06 AM
  #803  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default H3 LED improvement

I found the H3 LED's below that are a much better fit lengthwise than the previous bulbs. These new ones will allow for a better positioning of the filament in the proper location, without using the 3D printed adapters I made earlier.

Bulbs are made by Calais lighting and are claimed to be 670 lumens each.

Cheers!
Carl
Attached Images  
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 10-11-2017, 10:16 AM
  #804  
Michael Benno
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Michael Benno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 953
Default

Originally Posted by FLYVMO View Post
I found the H3 LED's below that are a much better fit lengthwise than the previous bulbs. These new ones will allow for a better positioning of the filament in the proper location, without using the 3D printed adapters I made earlier.

Bulbs are made by Calais lighting and are claimed to be 670 lumens each.

Cheers!
Carl
can you provide a parts source? The look interesting
Michael Benno is offline  
Old 10-11-2017, 10:33 AM
  #805  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

It is available on Amazon, the manufacturer web address is: www.calais-lighting.com
I hooked it up to a bench top test unit and they are brighter than the Oracle lighting "plasma LEDs" that I mentioned earlier in my project.

Correction to the lumens mentioned, it is 600, not 670 as mentioned above. 30W per bulb according to the spec sheet.

Cheers!
Carl
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 10-11-2017, 11:57 PM
  #806  
ramcram
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ramcram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Default

Originally Posted by FLYVMO View Post
I found the H3 LED's below that are a much better fit lengthwise than the previous bulbs. These new ones will allow for a better positioning of the filament in the proper location, without using the 3D printed adapters I made earlier.

Bulbs are made by Calais lighting and are claimed to be 670 lumens each.

Cheers!
Carl
Carl, are your using these for your fog lights or the auxiliary main beam lights?

you went to 'Tesla' you devil? oh envy!
ramcram is offline  
Old 10-12-2017, 12:43 AM
  #807  
ramcram
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ramcram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Default

Check this out this Carl. It Will make you feel good!
ramcram is offline  
Old 10-12-2017, 09:38 AM
  #808  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Hi Mike,

Using them for both is the plan, both are about equivalent to the stock H3 halogen bulbs, slightly brighter in my subjective mind.

Yes, picked up the Tesla in May, and what an awesome car it is. Very happy with it, every drive is filled with girly giggles

Cheers!
Carl

Originally Posted by ramcram View Post
Carl, are your using these for your fog lights or the auxiliary main beam lights?

you went to 'Tesla' you devil? oh envy!
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 10-12-2017, 09:41 AM
  #809  
FLYVMO
User
Thread Starter
 
FLYVMO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fernandina Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,314
Default

Great video, thanks for sharing. I got to ride in a P100D and it left my eye ***** somewhere in the back of my head.

Cheers!
Carl

Originally Posted by ramcram View Post
Check this out this Carl. It Will make you feel good!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eGhjhx8O9M
FLYVMO is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 11:45 PM
  #810  
ramcram
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
ramcram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 463
Default

Hi Carl,
Where did you get the new grommet for the battery cable into the battery boxc
I've been looking without success.
Mike
ramcram is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Empty shell to finished car


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: