Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

90 GT No spark (thanks Rog, I was wishing)

 
Old 10-16-2008, 05:38 AM
  #31  
Sailmed
User
 
Sailmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In the boatyard installing the mast and engine, we don't need a crane, we harness the mesquito's! Yeah!
Posts: 1,822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by docmirror View Post
Thanks, do you know what the active state is? Thanks.

It sure ain't Texass............
Just sayin
Sailmed is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 11:31 AM
  #32  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,990
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Doc--

You can do a simple test with your 'scope to see ignition pulses. Wrap a piece of common copper hookup wire around the coil wire, maybe four or five turns. Hook a scope probe to that, and crank the engine. Poor-man's inductive pickup. That way you'll be able to see if the coil is generating all four spark signals. You'll get to manually adjust the time-base and you won't have a sync, so twist the ***** appropriately. If you have a spare plug wire, put a plug in the end of it and the other end into the coil nose. Ground the plug body of course before cranking. With your pickup loop on that wire, you'll take the cap and rotor out of the selection set for problems.
dr bob is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 01:47 PM
  #33  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,616
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

We did bypass the ign monitoring circuit, 2/4/5 with no change.

Bob, we tried that and do have fire coming from the coil. I thought it was possible that it was a bad coil (concentrated on the passenger bank) and wasn't sending enough zap out, so we swapped it a couple of times. It does light the plug up good.

Pulled and rechecked the speed sensor, put back in, tied everything back up and
swapped in some working final stage amps a little bit ago. No change. I dunno. I'm going to let Doc work his magic abilities with this 'scope tomorrow.
SeanR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 02:40 PM
  #34  
Lizard928
Super User
 
Lizard928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford B.C.
Posts: 9,509
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

SeanR, I haven't seen you answer Louie's question yet.

Are the camshafts actually turning?

Maybe you installed the porkensioner, and forgot to pull the pin on it so the belt is loose and not spinning the cams. I know its a horrible thought, but it would explain it.
Lizard928 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 03:32 PM
  #35  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,616
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Lizard931 View Post
SeanR, I haven't seen you answer Louie's question yet.

Are the camshafts actually turning?

Maybe you installed the porkensioner, and forgot to pull the pin on it so the belt is loose and not spinning the cams. I know its a horrible thought, but it would explain it.
Sorry, I missed that one.

I'm going to assume (I know ***) that they are turning. We didn't upgrade to the Porkensioner but before we put it in the car we timed the cams, put the belt on, spun it a few dozen times. I can see the belt turning and I don't hear anything tapping inside.

When we pulled the rotors on the passenger side the cam gear was solid.

Interesting thought on that.
SeanR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:11 PM
  #36  
Cheryl Carter
User
 
Cheryl Carter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN DRAG. AGAIN.
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Put the hammer on with new brain and Hammer shows all parts working as required. Can't test EZK due to non-running condition, but it does show up as a working component.
Why not bypass thru the MDK terminal; the left cover comes off.

I'll jump ahead now to what we have now. Spark only on #4 and #5 cylinders. That tells us that the EZK is not getting a proper signal from the speed sensor, speed sensor is new, compared to the working old one and they are the same. We've tested the final ignition loop, continuity from the EZK to all connected components. Tested all LH loops.
If 4 is firing then 6 should be firing unless the phillip rotor port cap cover is loose. Have you checked that?

I had a similar problem last year and it turned out that the BZK was interfering with the EZK. Make sure you didn't cross them, the B and the E look alike after a little wear.

Let me know if I can be of further help.
Cheryl Carter is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:16 PM
  #37  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,616
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

LMFAO



Originally Posted by Cheryl Carter View Post
Why not bypass thru the MDK terminal; the left cover comes off.



If 4 is firing then 6 should be firing unless the phillip rotor port cap cover is loose. Have you checked that?

I had a similar problem last year and it turned out that the BZK was interfering with the EZK. Make sure you didn't cross them, the B and the E look alike after a little wear.

Let me know if I can be of further help.
SeanR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:18 PM
  #38  
worf928
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
worf928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 12,245
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

So, the motor has just been dropped-in. I assume the clutch assembly was removed to R&R the motor.

Did you remove the flywheel?
worf928 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:22 PM
  #39  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,616
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by worf928 View Post
So, the motor has just been dropped-in. I assume the clutch assembly was removed to R&R the motor.

Did you remove the flywheel?
Yup, it all came apart, it was a full rebuild. That was one thing Doc was saying last night that he had the flywheel redone. Not sure about that.
SeanR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:27 PM
  #40  
docmirror
Shameful Thread Killer
Rennlist Member
 
docmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rep of Texas, N NM, Rockies, SoCal
Posts: 19,586
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

We don't know right now if the cams are turning since it fired on Wed. Sean is going to check. If they aren't, I'm not going to be a happy camper. It's a good possibility, I missed the post yesterday evening.
docmirror is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:29 PM
  #41  
docmirror
Shameful Thread Killer
Rennlist Member
 
docmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rep of Texas, N NM, Rockies, SoCal
Posts: 19,586
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Ok, no cams moving. I guess I'll be parting it out. The valves will have to be replaced before the heads sell.
docmirror is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:35 PM
  #42  
SeanR
Running up the Odo'
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 34,616
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Well, looks like we do have an issue.

The cams are NOT turning. Belt is tight. Now the only thing I can come up with is the woodruf key snapped somehow. It turned just fine before we put it in the car.

This is weird.
SeanR is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:50 PM
  #43  
worf928
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
worf928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 12,245
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SeanR View Post
The cams are NOT turning. Belt is tight. Now the only thing I can come up with is the woodruf key snapped somehow. It turned just fine before we put it in the car.
Well...

****...
worf928 is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:53 PM
  #44  
the flyin' scotsman
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
the flyin' scotsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,618
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thats just friggin' horrible.

Time for a good break and regroup...........it can be fixed.
the flyin' scotsman is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:55 PM
  #45  
docmirror
Shameful Thread Killer
Rennlist Member
 
docmirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rep of Texas, N NM, Rockies, SoCal
Posts: 19,586
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

You fix it. They have wrenches in Canada.
docmirror is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: