Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

ITB setup startup - removed idle stabilizer - ok?

 
Old 01-12-2019, 09:35 AM
  #1  
Gulpilen
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 90
Default ITB setup startup - removed idle stabilizer - ok?

Hi all, I am ready with my car with ITB for startup and tuning (Shark tuner). My question, I removed the idle stabilizer valve and is there anythong I need to do with the wire that now is not connected to idle stabilizer valve anymore?


Thanks,
Jonas
Gulpilen is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 09:56 AM
  #2  
SwayBar
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SwayBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Bears
Posts: 2,321
Default

Not sure about your question, but more details and pictures of your setup would be greatly appreciated.
SwayBar is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:39 AM
  #3  
Gulpilen
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 90
Default

Originally Posted by SwayBar View Post
Not sure about your question, but more details and pictures of your setup would be greatly appreciated.

Gulpilen is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 02:41 PM
  #4  
dr bob
Chronic Tool Dropper
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
dr bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 17,612
Default

No harm on leaving the connector disconnected, maybe putting a protective sleeve/cap over it and secure it out of the way. I'm curious how you plan to manage idle speed beyond the stop screws on the individual TB's.
dr bob is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 02:56 PM
  #5  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 42,521
Default

gonna need sound of this beast too...
V2Rocket is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 02:58 PM
  #6  
928sg
Resident 928 Modiholic
Rennlist Member
 
928sg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,838
Default

Originally Posted by dr bob View Post
No harm on leaving the connector disconnected, maybe putting a protective sleeve/cap over it and secure it out of the way. I'm curious how you plan to manage idle speed beyond the stop screws on the individual TB's.
at w

I have no idea how he is going to do that with the factory computers. Aftermarket stuff usually has enough stuff to dial it in to idle, and worst case would be to plumb the ICV in and you can feed vacuum tubes to each ITB.

I'm not planning on using an ICV with mine either.
928sg is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 03:33 PM
  #7  
Gulpilen
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 90
Default

Thank you, I will put plastic around it. Idle, let us see whats needed 😊! If the idle is too low when cold and too high when warm I will do like suggestion Ēhoses after ITBs and before ITBs another hose -connected to original ICVĒ. The sound, I will let you know!
/Jonas

Last edited by Gulpilen; 01-12-2019 at 03:36 PM. Reason: Missed icv word
Gulpilen is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 07:11 PM
  #8  
drnick
Super User
 
drnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,770
Default

Jonas, Iíve recently been through a similar process although my tuning was for the JDS alpha n. Are you using forced induction?

The static setup is important and can save you time further downstream.. Balancing the throttle plates and getting them to open in sync, setting correct fuel pressure.

As for idle, hopefully others can help. Iíve got the stock ICV feeding vacuum passages through all eight itbs. The JDS idle controller works effectively with this.
drnick is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 09:01 AM
  #9  
Gulpilen
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 90
Default

Originally Posted by drnick View Post
Jonas, Iíve recently been through a similar process although my tuning was for the JDS alpha n. Are you using forced induction?

The static setup is important and can save you time further downstream.. Balancing the throttle plates and getting them to open in sync, setting correct fuel pressure.

As for idle, hopefully others can help. Iíve got the stock ICV feeding vacuum passages through all eight itbs. The JDS idle controller works effectively with this.
Not forcera in this setup. My FP is under control with fpr (aftermarket).Yes, thanks for your heads-up, it has been a small worry of having them itbs open exactly the same.
My Idea with the throttle plates is to (not yet tested...) using a vacuum measure by one ITB and adjust the rest with the same. Using a clock, in my setup, seems to be not so easy. Not for me anyway...

Ok, a T connector to vacuum hoses from stock ICV. That sounds good! Will look at JDS idle controller!
Gulpilen is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 06:41 PM
  #10  
drnick
Super User
 
drnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,770
Default

Jonas, very crudely I used a micrometer slid down the itb mouth to measure the throttle plate deflection for initial setup. If the car is not street driven then you may be ok without an ICV? Just set the throttle plates for a fast idle and call it good? Iím not sure what others have done..

My setup courtesy of Alex P uses bmw itbs with the vacuum passages cast in place.
drnick is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 06:43 PM
  #11  
andy-gts
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
andy-gts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: lawrence,kansas
Posts: 2,087
Default

Does the hood close without any alteration, and there certainly are a lot of hoses,,,,,,,,,,,NOS or OIL CONTROL or methanol injection ??
andy-gts is offline  
Old 01-14-2019, 10:32 AM
  #12  
Strosek Ultra
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Strosek Ultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mostly in my workshop located in Sweden.
Posts: 1,329
Default

There are very many multi-cylinder engines having no ICV out there so why should it not work? The throttle plates have to be synchronized. Set the throttles for good idle when engine has reached operating temperature. The only problem I can see is the idle rpm cold will probably not be the same as when engine is warmed up. Here is how they do it for a bike.
Ňke
https://pastframe.wordpress.com/2014...nchronization/
Some additional info.
http://www.compsystems.com.au/index....whole-ls-range
Strosek Ultra is online now  
Old 01-14-2019, 06:46 PM
  #13  
Ducman82
 
Ducman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 6,948
Default

And where will you get the vacuum for the brake booster? I'd plumb in an IAC. Makes life sooo much easier. Not to mention a standalone computer
Ducman82 is offline  
Old 01-14-2019, 07:00 PM
  #14  
karl ruiter
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Honolulu and sometimes L.A.
Posts: 2,640
Default

Having tried to tune a V12 in which the idle speed was controlled by the setting of the 12 throttle plates, I suggest you may end up wanting the ISV. I have found maintaining the sync over time and temp difficult.
karl ruiter is online now  
Old 01-14-2019, 08:02 PM
  #15  
Mongo
Official Bay Area Patriot
Fuse 24 Assassin
Rennlist Member
 
Mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Holding the Line Against the Libs (SF Bay Area)
Posts: 31,225
Default

Curious, can you fab a manifold or block and distribute air from the ISV equally to all 8 ports after the butterflies as long as there is a 'vacuum' port per each runner?
Mongo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: