Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   928 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum-69/)
-   -   928 Wheel offsets (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum/1120965-928-wheel-offsets.html)

Jaybrandnew 12-28-2018 08:11 AM

928 Wheel offsets

Hey guys.
First time poster, long time avid reader. I am the proud owner of a 1990 s4. I am based in Edinburgh, Scotland. I have begun what I hope to be a very comprehensive restoration of the car, both mechanically and cosmetically. I want to say at this point I have little to no mechanical knowledge.

My question is this. I have been offered a lovely set of 18" turbo twists at a great price I would very much like to use on my car. The problem is the offsets. As I understand it. the s4 offset is 65mm all round? The wheels I have been offered are ET65 at the rear, but only ET52 at the front. I have been getting a lot of conflicting views on this. With some saying they have been using a similar set up for years with no problems, to others saying it is outright dangerous, and many others somewhere in between.

What are you guys take on this? Is it do-able? What are potential problems? Some have mentioned machining a small amount off inside of wheel to increase offset? Is anyone using a similar set up? Will increasing tyre width in any way negate wrong offset potential issues. Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks very much
James

Adamant1971 12-28-2018 09:42 AM

ET 52 will work, but it moves the wheel out by 13mm. Any time you stray from the factory geometry it will have an effect on handling.

I used to run 18 x 8 @ Et 57. When I went back to 17 x 8 @ Et 65 I noticed the car handled much better. But I’m an aggressive driver and like to hammer it in the twistes.

So allot depends on how you drive the car and what you expect from it.

My .02 cents

FredR 12-28-2018 10:40 AM

James,