Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   928 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum-69/)
-   -   Replacing rear shocks; rear suspension pin stuck (https://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum/1037937-replacing-rear-shocks-rear-suspension-pin-stuck.html)

paalw 12-05-2017 10:08 AM

Replacing rear shocks; rear suspension pin stuck

I am replacing my shocks, but can't get the bloody pin to move. Searched the forums, tried all the tricks i found, hitting it both ways, impact wrench with counternut, pry bars, 5 litres of oil and WD40 into the inspection hole and around the bushings. Nothing will get that mean son of a b... to move.

I am a rookie DIYer in this area. Never worked on suspesion before. So, any ideas where do I go from here?

GlenL 12-05-2017 10:28 AM

It sounds like you've tried a lot of things. There's always trying again. Perhaps you can judge where it's stuck and work on that. I've seen the pin seize to the sleeve inside the shock and to the washers. At some point, it's time to get out the sawzall and cut the pin. It's hard to do.

paalw 12-05-2017 10:53 AM

I think it is seized to the middel part, not sure what it's called, but the part with the inspection hole underneath...

Tom in Austin 12-05-2017 11:12 AM

I'm sure you've tried this already ... place a 3/8 extension against the front of the pin and drive it out from front to back. IIRC, you have to remove the backing plate and parking brake stuff to reach it this way. I may have been lucky with mine, but some direct blows in this fashion finally got it moving.

GlenL 12-05-2017 11:35 AM

Does the pin rotate?

paalw 12-05-2017 11:41 AM

Originally Posted by GlenL (Post 14649354)
Does the pin rotate?

definately not

SeanR 12-05-2017 11:41 AM

Originally Posted by GlenL (Post 14649354)
Does the pin rotate?