Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

towing a 944 with a car dolly dos and don'ts ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2017, 11:46 AM
NS_Carguy
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default towing a 944 with a car dolly dos and don'ts ?

ok so I am still looking around for a 944 . there are several available . what keep drawing my attention are the projects . I know they are probably a bad idea but that is what I am drawn too .
there is a nice one in the city with the engine out and torn down , the owner has lost interest in the project . there are several of these types of cars around in various states of repair .

the problem is they are all at-least 1 1/2 hours drive away , and they don't for what ever reason run so how do I get them home . I have access to a car dolly , which should work , but I have never used one before and apparently there are dos and don't s to towing a car with one of these . It is not just for towing a project or parts car that i need the info when it comes down to it , many of the cars I am considering are at-least 1 1/2 hours away so I will need to get them home running or not and likely have to tow them .

What I need to know is how do I tow a 944 150km using a car dolly .
both auto and standard transmission types( I am still thinking about a nice auto 944 3 hours away )
Old 06-30-2017, 12:42 PM
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member

Received 632 Likes on 490 Posts

you can tow a standard 944 with a 2-wheel dolly no problem, just put the front wheels up and use good straps to hold it on...done it plenty of times.

you can't tow an auto 944 unless you either A) put the front wheels on the ground and the rear on the dolly or B) disconnect the axles from the hubs.
Old 06-30-2017, 01:29 PM
NS_Carguy
Advanced