Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My 1988 944S Resurrection

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2017, 01:51 AM
Braymond
Rennlist Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Thumbs up My 1988 944S Resurrection

Hello Rennlisters,

I recently acquired a 1988 944S in fair/good condition. It needs some TLC but it's definitely not too far gone. I thought I'd post my work progress here and welcome comments, questions, and suggestions.

This is my first Porsche, but I've been wanting one for over 30 years. I have some experience working on cars and I'm a licensed aviation tech (A&P).

I looked hard for an 'S' model (for lots of reasons) and found this one owner car here in Maryland. I plan to use the car for auto cross, DE, and occasionally around town.

I bought the car just before Christmas 2016, but I've only done a few things so far due to work and weather. I joined Rennlist right after Christmas and started doing some homework as the car came with only a few clues as to current maintenance status.

Overall, the car is in pretty good shape. The paint is rough and there are a couple of very small dents, but it's good enough for now and I'd prefer to focus on mechanical repairs and I'll consider a respray later. The only modification I see is the JVC head unit which sounds terrible.

I found a recent (2016) successful emissions test, so I feel comfortable it will pass again when I got for inspection. I found a maintenance sticker under the hood that reports the timing belt had been changed at 115k miles. It has about 126k now.