Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   924/931/944/951/968 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/924-931-944-951-968-forum-70/)
-   -   Weird leak when raining - passenger side (https://rennlist.com/forums/924-931-944-951-968-forum/850498-weird-leak-when-raining-passenger-side.html)

odonnell 12-27-2014 05:05 PM

Weird leak when raining - passenger side

I'm getting pretty annoyed with this leak, I can't find it, I think it must be behind interior panels. Total noob when it comes to stuff like this. It's on the passenger side, no apparent water leaking in from the hatch.

Voith 12-27-2014 05:39 PM

Check under battery. Po of my car solved it with silicone and painted over it, it looked perfectly ok but leaked. :)

HICKS 12-27-2014 06:22 PM

Battery tray.

odonnell 12-27-2014 06:33 PM

Battery tray was perfect when I had the battery out about a month ago, I'll check again, thanks guys.

kwikt 12-27-2014 06:48 PM

Just fixed mine yesterday on the 968. Do you have a sunroof??? If so the sunroof rubber drain tube became disconnected from the metal sleeve in the corner of the dash. Remove the sun roof then pour some water in the front right corner drain of the sun roof and look for dripping under the dash. Very simple fix if this is the problem.

pdxfj 12-27-2014 07:31 PM

I have/had a similar leak. Pull the carpet and trim panels from behind the seat and between the side window and hatch. You might find water there as well.

What I discovered is my sunroof seal had small cracks in it and was leaking on the inside of the seal (between sunroof and seal), dripping down on the inside of the headliner, finally making its way down to the floor in the same spot (all on the inside panels). Also found trails of water into the rear cubbies and dripping on the tail lights. My sunroof drains were free and clear.