Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944 - VW Swap

 
Old 04-10-2015, 01:44 PM
  #76  
alordofchaos
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
alordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 32,098
Default

Originally Posted by Lapkritis View Post
So slight change in plans. I have a good friend who has worked in the capital region for Tesla for a number of years. .... So the drive-train is good and my friend is confident we could just graft the 944 shell over the Tesla pan/drivetrain.
I just found and read this whole thread... well played, sir! I had a serious, "wtf just happened" moment
alordofchaos is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 05:30 PM
  #77  
Giantviper
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Giantviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,081
Default

Very interesting following.....BTW Great April Fools joke!
Giantviper is offline  
Old 04-13-2015, 11:28 AM
  #78  
Lapkritis
User
Thread Starter
 
Lapkritis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Default

Not much to update unfortunately... parts are back from scan house and I've played around with some mickey mouse 3d scanning tools. We have the mesh but progress is slow. I did pick up a 924 turbo bell housing to compare dimensions when the time comes.

Name:  bell%20grey_zps9zb9qreu.jpg
Views: 1178
Size:  45.1 KB

Name:  bell%20color_zpshjrkazbd.jpg
Views: 1153
Size:  30.8 KB
Lapkritis is offline  
Old 06-21-2015, 01:43 AM
  #79  
Forty-six and 2
User
 
Forty-six and 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 80
Default

Any news on your bellhousing production? I am starting an ABA/16vT swap. The bellhousing is the first key. I do have a sacrificial o2a to use if needed, just wanted to check in here first.
Forty-six and 2 is offline  
Old 06-29-2015, 02:24 PM
  #80  
Lapkritis
User
Thread Starter
 
Lapkritis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Default

Hey there - wish I had more to share on the project but it's slow going. Don't bother chopping the 02A; the starter goes right into the gas pedal. I'd rather ship the one I learned on to you (bolted to the engine still) instead of killing another 02A. I would recommend finding a B5 Audi or Passat FWD/Quattro 5spd to give up parts instead. This moves the starter under the turbo on the engine side which is well out of the way.
Lapkritis is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 07:08 AM
  #81  
FRporscheman
Captain Planet
Rennlist Member
 
FRporscheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco bay area
Posts: 10,983
Default

For the starter, I was thinking of relocating the starter hole lower on the bellhousing. Easier said than done, sure, but it would be fun / interesting to try.
FRporscheman is offline  
Old 07-01-2015, 10:25 AM
  #82  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 42,584
Default

skip the starter, just put a hole through the front of the car for a Model-T hand-crank
V2Rocket is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 06:22 AM
  #83  
FRporscheman
Captain Planet
Rennlist Member
 
FRporscheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco bay area
Posts: 10,983
Default

Psh, that's for peasants. I could just park it on a hill.

A while back, I seriously looked into belt-drive starter motors. GM has one, and it actually acts as a hybrid electric motor/generator as well as a starter. If it becomes too hard to relocate the starter lower, I might give that a try.
FRporscheman is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 10:16 AM
  #84  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 42,584
Default

you could mount the starter ring at the transmission end
V2Rocket is offline  
Old 07-02-2015, 09:12 PM
  #85  
mikey_audiogeek
User
 
mikey_audiogeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,546
Default

Originally Posted by V2Rocket_aka944 View Post
you could mount the starter ring at the transmission end
Any reason why not? Could you fit a flexplate in there?
mikey_audiogeek is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 02:04 PM
  #86  
alxdgr8
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
alxdgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,612
Default

Originally Posted by mikey_audiogeek View Post
Any reason why not? Could you fit a flexplate in there?
You'd have to start it in neutral with the clutch engaged every time. I'm not sure you can fit a large enough toothed wheel on the trans side housing to get enough torque. At that point you're basically building another bellhousing, so you might as well do it right and do it at the motor.
alxdgr8 is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 02:27 PM
  #87  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 42,584
Default

Originally Posted by alxdgr8 View Post
You'd have to start it in neutral with the clutch engaged every time. I'm not sure you can fit a large enough toothed wheel on the trans side housing to get enough torque. At that point you're basically building another bellhousing, so you might as well do it right and do it at the motor.
well the audi5000 used that trans case with a FW/starter ring in there...thinking about the automatic 944s they used a flexplate sort of thing to bolt to the torque converter at the back, you could probably fit an audi5000 flex plate to the 944 drive shaft coupler and use a hi-torque starter...
my concern is, is there enough space in the back of a 944 for a starter to mount (to the torque tube alu. flange) where it would go on the audi?
V2Rocket is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 12:03 AM
  #88  
alxdgr8
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
alxdgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,612
Default

Originally Posted by V2Rocket_aka944 View Post
well the audi5000 used that trans case with a FW/starter ring in there...thinking about the automatic 944s they used a flexplate sort of thing to bolt to the torque converter at the back, you could probably fit an audi5000 flex plate to the 944 drive shaft coupler and use a hi-torque starter...
my concern is, is there enough space in the back of a 944 for a starter to mount (to the torque tube alu. flange) where it would go on the audi?
Ah, true. Guess it's been too long since I looked at a 944 trans...just did and you're right, there's probably room. Especially if you place the starter on the torque tube side.

Do you have any pictures of the auto flexplate? What I would worry about is the mass of a flexplate on the torque tube or on the shaft of a manual trans that wasn't designed for that load. It would need to be very well balanced.
alxdgr8 is online now  
Old 07-07-2015, 12:20 AM
  #89  
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member
 
V2Rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 42,584
Default

heres the auto 944 thing (#10)...has 3 bolt holes to attach to the torque converter.
it just clamps onto the driveshaft like the manual car coupler.
if you fit a starter ring gear on there somehow, i would think it could handle the start-up torque.
youd always have to have the trans in neutral like you said though.

V2Rocket is offline  
Old 07-07-2015, 12:45 AM
  #90  
FRporscheman
Captain Planet
Rennlist Member
 
FRporscheman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco bay area
Posts: 10,983
Default

All this talk is making me want to drop my other hobbies and learn CAD, then get a proper bellhousing CNC'd!
FRporscheman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 944 - VW Swap


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: