Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Boost Increase: Gasoline vs Diesel

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2013, 04:55 PM
Chunkerz
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Boost Increase: Gasoline vs Diesel

This is a n00b question, but when people want to increase the boost in their 951, why do they need a special headgasket and an oringed head and ultra super low compression pistons and all that stuff? I understand the differences in the combustion process and the need for the special stand alone engine management and all that stuff to prevent knocking, but why do they need the other modifications? In my VW diesel I've been running ~24psi for 3 years with the stock headgasket, rods, and 19.5:1 compression pistons and I haven't blown the engine yet. I've seen pictures of the headgasket for my VW and it doesn't look like it's anything special.
Old 04-28-2013, 05:21 PM
bordin34
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The basic principle behind how a gas and diesel engine fire are very different.
With gas you want to compress the gasses and ignite it via the spark plug before it has detonation or knocks. Knocking and detonation are bad, very bad. When you force more air and fuel into the engine it is more likely to knock, thus the lower compression pistons.
Diesel engines are designed to run off a detonation in simple terms. There is no spark plug or anything like that, discounting glow plugs when cold.
Normally a diesel engine will be made much stronger in every aspect than a gas engine because it has to control a lot more force.
Old 04-28-2013, 06:36 PM
86 951 Driver
Race Car

If anyone could come up with a true answer this issue would be solved.