Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headlights don't work now...WTF?

 
Old 12-15-2005, 10:22 PM
  #1  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default Headlights don't work now...WTF?

Driving to the station this morning-yet another problem. I saw the headlights flicker on and off, then, poof...no more light. Turned the switch on and off--the parking lights work, and my fog lights work. Headlights pop up, but no light.

I assume both bulbs woudn't burn out at once, so is there a relay or fuse I should check? Any idea what would cause this?

Gotta love winter!
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:31 PM
  #2  
SoCal Driver
Super User
 
SoCal Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 3,781
Default

Head light switch. Turn it on and see if there is voltage/current at the fuses. Each element in the headlamps has it's own fuse. A total of four.
SoCal Driver is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:34 PM
  #3  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default

Ummm....how do I see if there is voltage at the fuses? I have a multi meter, but only know how to use it to bias my Marshall amps!?

Is replacing the headlight switch an easy fix, or a Porsche nightmare?
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:46 PM
  #4  
SoCal Driver
Super User
 
SoCal Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 3,781
Default

Set your meter to 12-24VDC, clamp one side to the chassis (anywhere there is a stud or bracket), pull the fuse and stick the point down into the holes. One side will have battery voltage (about 12.8 VDC).

Do your running lights come on? If so this may be the headlight relay.
SoCal Driver is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:51 PM
  #5  
ibkevin
Defending the Border
Rennlist Member

Rest In Peace
 
ibkevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sun Diego
Posts: 17,543
Default

Check the pig-tail to the headlight at the point, about 6" back, that the cable flexes when the lights go up and down for failed wiring.
ibkevin is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:47 PM
  #6  
WolfeMacleod
Super User
 
WolfeMacleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,065
Default

Originally Posted by AndyK
but only know how to use it to bias my Marshall amps!?
What kinda Marshall?
WolfeMacleod is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:08 PM
  #7  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default

Originally Posted by WolfeMacleod
What kinda Marshall?
It's a '78 JMP MkII 50 watt. I've owned them all, but this one is a keeper!

My running lights DO work. Where is the headlights relay? Couldn't find it on the fuse panel guide list.
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:38 PM
  #8  
SoCal Driver
Super User
 
SoCal Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 3,781
Default

SoCal Driver is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 03:59 PM
  #9  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default

SoCal--Which one is it?? There's a "high beam" relay, but no headlights relay...I must be missing it?
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 05:21 PM
  #10  
SoCal Driver
Super User
 
SoCal Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 3,781
Default

You Beam. I Beam. We All Beam For High Beams!
SoCal Driver is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:05 PM
  #11  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default

Originally Posted by SoCal Driver
You Beam. I Beam. We All Beam For High Beams!
Ah, they call the headlights "high beams"?
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 06:08 PM
  #12  
Techno Duck
Super User
 
Techno Duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 9,971
Default

Andy, i dont think there is a relay for the lowbeam on the headlights, only a fuse. Check underneath the fusebox cover and there is a diagram which tells you which fuse number you need to check, it might be one fuse for each side or a single fuse for both sides..i cant remember. I dont think the highbeam relay will have anything to do with it.

Do the highbeams still work?
Techno Duck is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:46 PM
  #13  
SoCal Driver
Super User
 
SoCal Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Posts: 3,781
Default

I stand corrected. The high beam relay on the diagram is for aux high beams. The arm and switch on the steering column does all of the high/low beam swtiching. You will need to take your headlight switch out and drop it down below the dash with the connector on to do an active test. Pin #56 should be hot with the switch on (in head light possition -- last). Power comes in on pin X. (with the key on). If your running lights come on there is power at pin X.

Only one of the two elements is driven at any time. There are four fuses; one for each of the two elements in each of the two head light -- #20, 21, 22 and 23.
SoCal Driver is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 09:05 PM
  #14  
AndyK
Addict
Rennlist Member

Thread Starter
 
AndyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,942
Default

Tried my high beams--they work fine! So only my low-beams are not working. All 4 7.5 amp fuses are fine. What else can it be??
AndyK is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 09:12 PM
  #15  
sm
Super User
 
sm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,227
Default

Though this may be a stretch, swap the fuses around to make sure that they are indeed fine. Sometimes they look ok, but are on the fritz. This happened to me just today.
sm is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Headlights don't work now...WTF?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: