Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

AC Delete options, the budget kind

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2005, 02:20 PM
apierce918
Addic
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC Delete options, the budget kind

Ok, you may have read my post about my AC compressor issues, well go figure, my truck that i drive when my car is having downtime has clutch issues. i think when the PO had a cluth replaced, they didnt put a piece in there, long story short. its really hard to shift.

so i want my porsche back on the road.
i have had 2 other black vehicles without AC so this is a luxery i can live without, especially since im a poor college student working part time. i have seen some delete kits, but they run 150-160$ which kind of confuses me. can i just leave the compressor sitting there until i can afford a replacement, and buy a shorter belt that goes from the crank to the alternator? if i can, what size belt is it, and are they made readily available.

the delete kit on paragon sounds like its a bracket to fill where the compressor would be and thats all the belt does is go from the alternator to the crank.

OR, if any of you were in a similar situation, do you have a delete kit that you dont use anymore? because you were able to afford the compressor later?

i emailed 944online.com and a few other places about a used/rebuilt compressor, but its been a few days and no replies yet. so im getting antsy

thanks in advance
Old 05-16-2005, 02:31 PM
Porsche-O-Phile
Banned

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts