Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel Advice Needed For '89 S2: 7" Front/8" Rear (stock Size), or 8" Front/9" Rear?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2018, 04:14 AM
AkechiMotors
Racer

Received 22 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Wheel Advice Needed For '89 S2: 7" Front/8" Rear (stock Size), or 8" Front/9" Rear?

https://www.fuchsfelgeusa.com/wheel/...e%2Dfuchs%2D17

The 7/8's are the exact sizes and offsets that came stock on my '89 S2, while the 8/9's would be 3mils added (that is, the wheel would be three mils closer to the inner fender from the stock position) up front and 3mils further inward from the fender in the back. I can't imagine that minor of a difference in offset would be an issue (it's only .12"), but I'm a novice and know nothing, so any experienced opinion is greatly appreciated. Weight difference between the two sets is only a pound, so not much of an problem there, though the larger tires would add some extra weight.
Old 10-02-2018, 08:12 AM
Duke48
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

It depends what you want. I have 7Jx16" front and 8Jx16" tele dials rear for the summer and 7.5Jx17" front and 9Jx17" Migle Miglia Cup1. Car is much more planted with the wider wheels, also I feel that it cares less about potholes etc. it's more like hammer. At the same time this dude uses 15"
teledials and I heard from him that it's less mass to be rotated, car is more nimble.

Personally I would go for 8J and 9J with 225 fronts and 255 rears if you are not competing very often or you are competing on high speed courses.
Old 10-02-2018, 11:07 AM
screamin94Z
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts