Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crank stuck after hydrolock (puddle of death)

Old 09-29-2018, 06:46 PM
hagfish118
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crank stuck after hydrolock (puddle of death)

Hello all. My name is George I am a plumber by trade but mechanically inclined but not a mechanic. My nephew Hydrolocked his 08 nissan Altima. So far Ive drained the oil which had water in it. About 2 cups or so. Drained Coolant for heck of it. Pulled plugs and intake. Starter will move crank but then sticks. Can move partially by hand Just started penetrating fluid process. Am I wasting my time pros? Also he says car just shut of did not shake or make any crazy noises. He did attempt starting while hydrolocked but at that point elecrtic was wacking out and only made clicking noise no actual turnover. I NEED HELP PLEASE!

Last edited by hagfish118; 09-29-2018 at 06:50 PM. Reason: add info
Old 09-29-2018, 08:55 PM
odonnell
Rennlist Member

Received 63 Likes on 45 Posts

If the crank moves by hand but locks up at a certain point, it sounds like a rod is bent and the piston skirt is clashing with a counterweight on the crank. Best of luck

Just FYI this is a Porsche 944 forum
Old 09-29-2018, 09:34 PM
tempest411
Rennlist Member

Received 181 Likes on 149 Posts

Your nephew most certainly overheated the engine-a lot-and ignored or was oblivious to it, and blew the head gasket. Just hope that head can be saved by resurfacing it, and that it, or the block, were not cracked in the process of overheating.
Old 09-30-2018, 12:13 AM
jennifer911
Racer

Received 98 Likes on 58 Posts

Hagfish, if your nephew has full insurance on the car, the comprehensive (or failing that, the collision) part of his policy will cover this.