Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 conversion questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2018, 06:52 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS1 conversion questions

I'm brand new to this whole engine swap thing, as a matter of fact this is my first car. Anyways I have a 1984 NA 944 that I'm going to drop an LM7 in (just rated at 540 HP, but still building). I had a few questions regarding this that I have not found in my months of research so here it goes:
1. Will the AOR transmission be able to handle the horsepower and torque? What can I use if it cannot?
2. I want to change over the brakes to an M030 setup, but don't know specific parts I need. For example I know I need spindles, hubs, rotors, calipers, pads, and struts, but what year/fit of said parts and will the stock 1984 NA control arms need to be changed?
3. Would I be able to use the LM7 interior wiring or need to stay with the stock?
4. If I slap a twin turbo on the motor, where can I mount them, if anyone has experience?
5. The biggest question (to me), with the brake booster delete, where can I find a dual master cylinder and mount having the only944 firewall brace (rotted firewall) and will the clutch master cylinder be able to stay stock?
6. Is there anything I have probably overlooked that you have any recommendations for?

I think thats it for now. I will likely have more questions in the future. Loaded questions, I know. But any help is GREATLY appreciated.
Oh and if anyone can read legal stuff, will I be able to use a Holley HP EFI or Dominator EFI and pass emissions in the Phoenix area? I looked this up for countless hours and could not find anything definitive.

Last edited by 84944; 01-07-2018 at 07:12 PM.
Old 01-07-2018, 07:33 PM
marc abrams
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts