Overfilled the oil.... What to do?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2001, 09:35 PM
BrianKeithSmith
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Overfilled the oil.... What to do?

Today, in preparation for an upcoming track event, I topped off my oil. Unfortunately, I topped it off about 1 qt too much (I know, stupid, idiotic mistake. Don't rub it in, I feel miserable enough). Car is smoking a little but my main problem appears to be one of cleanliness now. The oil overflowed into the airbox, and is dripping out of the airbox, onto the right side of the motor, then all over my garage floor.

Do I need to remove the airbox, clean it, and replace the filter, or just drive it and let it all flow out, then clean the engine compartment.

If I need to remove the airbox, is it possible to remove it without having to remove the intercooler first? (Stock 930 by the way).

I see alot of little hoses hooked to the airbox. Is the removal of the airbox that hard? (I'm not a mechanic, don't claim to be).

Thanks for any advice.

Brian
My 930
Old 11-02-2001, 09:36 PM
BrianKeithSmith
Addict
Rennlist Member

By the way, I did drain out some of the oil, then add back to an appropriate level.

Forgot that part.

Brian
Old 11-04-2001, 09:09 PM
garrickl
RIP