Porsche 911 Turbo sitting for 20 years

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2012, 04:21 PM
floridaguy1950
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Porsche 911 Turbo sitting for 20 years

Hello gents,

Bare with me here, I am new to this intranet technology, but I found Pelican through a search in the Google.
Anyways, in 1988 I purchased new a 1987 911 Turbo here in Miami. I drove it for a year or so, put about 15,000 miles on it, and unfortunately I had to go away for awhile, but since my recent return I am looking to get this car road worthy again. Needless to say, the car has not been started in over 20 years, and of course doesnt start now, the battery is dead. the tires are flat, and some rust corrosion has occurred. Not being overly experienced in the mechanics of these cars I was just curious as how to proceed with this, should I purchase a battery, and try to get this started on my own? or have it towed to the Porsche dealer, and have them bring it back to life.

Back when i bought the car, it was totally bitchin, amazingly fast, and incredible handling. At the time it was one of the great sports cars on the road. I can't belive how the times have changed, since my return i see all these new Porsches on the road, they seem so futuristic to me. To be honest I like the look of my car better.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Old 09-28-2012, 04:45 PM
AKA930
Instructor

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and ask, were you abducted by aliens? I don't see how else you can leave a perfectly running 930 alone for over 20 years!!! LOL.

Okay, on a serious note....I think you should take it in to a reliable independant shop, cause the dealer will take you to the cleaners! I think you're gonna have to go through your fuel tank, filters, senders, and all that stuff cause I'm sure it's all rusty in there. I've been there....

Let us know what progress you make on this project, tho! Good Luck!
Old 09-28-2012, 05:19 PM
fullquack
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts