Another blue smoking 965

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 06:42 AM
Staffan
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another blue smoking 965

Hi
I have a 964 turbo currently at 100.000km with a lot of track driving.
Have B&B headers and a HF turbo that I have been running for a couple of years now.

It shoots blue smoke like crazy, think/hope it is the turbo, but I am not sure.
I have no blue smoke when the engine is cold and no blue smoke at lower revs.

It starts after about 1 minute of hard driving, there is smoke from both the exhaust and wastegate side. When I do a throttle lift I get a BIG cloud. If I run on continous high revs it smokes big time.

The car is at a shop at Nürburgring, I removed the turbo and brought it back home, the german shop will do a leak down test this week. When the turbo was removed I checked the hose between the turbo and intercooler, there was some oil, but if I remember correctly there has allways been some oil there. Couldn't spot much oil in the intercooler, maybee a little bit damp, but not much. There was no oil in the turbo (air out), a drop or two of oil on the turbo air-in side, but that could have been from the mechanics oily glows.

Any ideas on where to go from here?

Edit:
Oil level is checked and okey.
I had some kind of oil leak on the right hand side in the engine compartement (it stopped now, could have been a loose oil cap), lots of oil in there and in the air box (it's cut open), cleaned the airfilter with brake cleaner (K&N). But it doubt it has something to do with it since there is no smoke when the engine is cold.
Old 06-18-2007, 07:00 AM
38D
Nordschleife Master

Received 839 Likes on 423 Posts

Any leaks from the turbo bearing section? How many track days do you have on the turbo?
Old 06-18-2007, 05:21 PM
Staffan
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by 38D
Any leaks from the turbo bearing section? How many track days do you have on the turbo?