Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Is a 911 SC the right car for me?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2017, 11:26 PM
Speedmeister
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a 911 SC the right car for me?

Hello everyone,

The 911 SC has been a car I always thought was beautiful and would love to own one. Recently a 1983 has popped up next to me. The asking price is 23k which is within my budget range for a car. The problem with the car is that it will need a repaint and the odometer has been rolled back. As far as I know there is no rust.

I am currently a student in college and my question is, would this car be reliable enough to daily drive for about 8k miles a year? This is would not be my only car, I can use my parents car if I do experience some issues but I would hate to buy a car that will always be needing to go to the shop. Also, should I consider this car with its rolled back mileage? I don't mind buying a car with some cosmetic damage and I plan to steadily work on the car myself to make it better and better as I accumulate money, but I also want something that is mechanically sound and going to treat me well while still being absolutely gorgeous and fun to drive while not be a huge financial strain.

Is it typically you get what you pay for with the 911 sc? Would it be better to save longer and get one at around the 30k price point?

Thank you
Old 01-29-2017, 11:31 PM
996AE
Rennlist Member

Received 1,449 Likes on 956 Posts

23k wont get you much of a SC today.

If you cant afford a PPI dont buy it.

These cars can be great, or money pits. Parts arent cheap and labor is 145.00 per hour in LA P car shops.
Old 01-30-2017, 12:14 AM
Mark Salvetti
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 183 Likes on 144 Posts