Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Sell my '03 Turbo to finance an AC hot-rod?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2016, 12:24 AM
Th Dude
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sell my '03 Turbo to finance an AC hot-rod?

I've been longing for a pre '75 911 to turn into a hotrod for the last 18 months or so. The itch comes and goes, but always seems to return with a vengeance.
I've recently located a perfect hot-rod candidate in an extremely rare factory color. However, I would need to sell my '03 X50 to finance the hot rod idea.
Sooooo....I'm strongly considering placing my thoroughly loved and sorted, highly optioned turbo up for sale. I would prefer to sell my Porsche to another enthusiast.
I've already drawn up a draft for an ad should I decide to commit to this madness.
As far as intended use, this will likely be my one and only ride. I work from home and put about 4k miles/yr on the turbo. I also live near one of the best driving roads in California.
I'd like to hear your thoughts on this idea. Tell me how crazy I am for considering this, as my indy mechanic and most of the crowd in the turbo forum already has. Talk me off the ledge.
Old 06-04-2016, 01:06 AM
Amber Gramps
Addict

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

DO IT!!!!

Old 06-04-2016, 02:19 AM
Bleek
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Make sure the sale of the car will provide enough $$ to build the car you want. So far, my hotrod has already consumed 2 cars and doesn't look like it has any intention to stop. About 3 times more than I budgeted for. That said, I did little to no work myself. Hey, I can put in a new steering wheel, lol.

So funny because the next car it is threatening to consume is a cherry SC, that I was considering selling for a 996 Turbo.

Best of luck! You only live once!
Old 06-04-2016, 05:04 AM
union
Instructor