Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Brand new to the site and thinking of buying a 78 911

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2007, 12:39 AM
911sc seattle
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brand new to the site and thinking of buying a 78 911

I'm 28 have a decent job and have always loved the 911 body style and handling. I’ve got a friend whose father is thinking of selling his 1978 911sc. I’m brand new to the Porsche brand but not to cars by any means. I’m wondering what to look for in this car like known issues and what a possible fair price may be. Are there any links or anyone out there that has intimate knowledge of this model and year that I may be able to ask a few questions of, just to make sure I’m doing the right thing?

Here’s the reason for the purchase. I’ve got a company car that I can and do use for personal use and a motorcycle (R1). The bikes been a lot of fun but it’s time to step up in safety, maturity level and, I’m not going to hold back, status. The name has always had prestige and for a reason. But bear in mind I am a beginner with this make (any European make to be honest). I’ve been an American muscle car owner for several years and have spent several hundred man hours under the “bonnet”.

Any advice is much appreciated.
Old 02-20-2007, 01:08 AM
Marc Shaw
Super Duper Moderator
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by Martin Baker
Maybe an admin could move your post to a 911 related forum....good luck in your search for the right car!
I'm not one of the Administrators but I can move it for him.

Marc
Old 02-20-2007, 01:17 AM
JV911
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

hello and welcome!

do you have any details about the car in question ie mileage, upgrades, documented history etc etc?

huge resources on rennlist...here is a start: https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...ferrerid=46185
Old 02-20-2007, 01:52 AM
oceanvue
Instructor

Kind of too late to turn back now judging by your username.