Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   911 Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/911-forum-56/)
-   -   84-89 Carrera Coupe - rear spoiler question (https://rennlist.com/forums/911-forum/266413-84-89-carrera-coupe-rear-spoiler-question.html)

seronde 04-13-2006 02:25 AM

84-89 Carrera Coupe - rear spoiler question

I am a newbie who is looking to buy my first porsche. I want a Carrera Coupe and have looked at several - a couple of '84s, an '86, etc.

I don't want one with a rear spoiler. I happen to prefer the lines of the car without the spoiler. Can these be removed? Easily? Or should I just limit my search to cars that don't have them?

Thanks!

Spodie! 04-13-2006 03:57 AM

I'm looking for my first Porsche too (so don't buy my '87-89 Silver Coupe that I know is out there somewhere!) :D

From what I understand, you have two options if you want to remove the tail:
  • Buy a new decklid and swap it out completely with the old decklid/tail.
  • Remove the tail from the original decklid, fill in the holes where it attached and repaint it.

I'm kinda torn between the whole tail/no tail thing.
Sometimes it seems like the tail overwhelms the car, then I'll see one with a tail that looks just perfect.

bmcallister 04-13-2006 04:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I was of the same opinion when I began my search. I wound up buying one with a rear spoiler. This decision was made easier because: 1) There is an oil cooler in the rear wing (thus functional, not just for looks); 2) The car develops a significant amount of lift in the rear while at speed without the rear spoiler (the functional thing again); 3) A deck lid without a spoiler is cheaper than one with so it should not be too hard to swap with someone if you want to; 4) The spoiler looks much more subdued in darker colored cars (black); and 5) You can rest a beer on it when looking at it in the garage. :burnout:

Here's a pic of my '85.