Notices
911 Forum 1964-1989
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC
View Poll Results: Have you experienced lift off oversteer in your 911 ?
Never...
33.33%
Yes I have, and its as scary as they say
62.32%
I don't drive it that hard
4.35%
Voters: 69. You may not vote on this poll

...lift off oversteer anyone ????

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2004, 04:51 AM
stv951
Burning Brakes

Received 31 Likes on 10 Posts
Default ...lift off oversteer anyone ????

Be aware. 911s bite back. They are dangerous cars requiring your attention when driven hard....You need to be quick when it goes...

I've been reading this in all types of tests, used car buying guids, classic car articles etc. I've been driving 911s for 12 years now (including a 400bhp 964 T 3,3) , and never experienced that.
What is wrong with me??? Am I driving too slow to miss all this fun ???
Old 07-07-2004, 06:15 AM
Avenger6
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

Porsche spent a lot of time and effort to reduce and nearly eliminate the "trailing throttle oversteer" problem. It was a really bad problem with the early cars, and by the MY1978 cars like yours, much progress had been made. Longer wheel base, wider tires, etc were all done fairly early on. Plus, modern tires, even in the same sizes as the originals, are much grippier and more stable than the old ones.

I HAVE experienced this problem, but only in low traction situations. I had just moved to a new part of the country, and was out for a drive. I came into a decreasing radius curve that caught me by surprise. It also had some gravel on the outside. Well, I got into the gravel, made the cardinal sin of lifting out of the throttle, and I was backwards in a big hurry.