Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Need info about 83 911 SC.

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2018, 09:29 PM
AaronM
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need info about 83 911 SC.

I am new to Porsches and am considering an 83 911 coupe. I don't know the milage yet. A friend of mine owns it currently and has lost interest in it. He drove it unroll about 3 years ago. It is a sunroof coupe, 5 speed. He says that it stalls once in a while while driving, but starts right up. He was told that the carbs need synced. He also thinks that the coil could be going bad. My understanding is that 83s were fuel injected? What else should I look at when I do go look at this car ie rust areas, and any common mechanical problems? The price is VERY reasonable. Thanks
Old 04-24-2018, 10:57 PM
Mark Salvetti
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 183 Likes on 144 Posts

SC's are very solid cars. They were all fuel injected, but it can be temperamental and it wouldn't be at all surprising if it was replaced with carbs. Gearboxes can be finicky and hard to assess if you are not used to them. Just make sure it doesn't grind on the upshifts, and don't try to shift into first if the car is rolling without double-clutching.

Places to check for rust would be around the battery in the left front trunk, and in front of the rear wheels, corresponding to the lower portion of the door latch posts. Also the front suspension mounting points, especially on the battery side. Window seals can leak, leading to rust at the lower corners of the windshield (even under what looks like a perfectly good seal), and if the rear seals leak you can end up with water under the rear deck and accumulating in the rear seat bottoms.

Don't expect the AC to work. Check that everything else electrical functions.