Notices
718 Forum 982 (718) 2016-Current Discussions about 718 Boxster Cayman Variants
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Had a 718 CS loaner while my 981 BGTS was serviced. Some thoughts.

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2018, 08:41 AM
manifold danger
Three Wheelin'

Received 1,133 Likes on 638 Posts
Default Had a 718 CS loaner while my 981 BGTS was serviced. Some thoughts.

I was put in a brand new 718 Cayman S as a loaner the past couple days. It's not the first time as I've had a 718 BS loaner in the past that actually led to my current purchase of a 981, but this time it didn't spend the majority of the time I had it in a parking garage and I actually got a sense of what it's like to live with. I'm left... conflicted.

Any of the folks who frequent this board probably recognize my username as being an advocate for NOT hating on the 718 despite the fact that I drive a 981, so I'd like to consider myself at least close to unbiased. Also I'm relatively new to Porsche, having just picked up my 981 last November (I've had a Macan since 2015 but no one seems to care about that...). So as expected, I thoroughly enjoyed the car. This one was really well equipped too; PASM, Sport Chrono, PSE. But one thing I noticed after running a few errands, the problem with the sound goes a bit beyond the exhaust note or even the "artificial" sound inside the car (which I didn't even notice). The 981 is a noisy engine as well as far as lifter noise and general racket is concerned... but the 718's 4 produces a cacophony of ticking and rattling that at times had me wondering if I broke something. There was only 200 miles on the car when I got it, I was easy on it out of respect for whoever else may own the car at some point but the noise was so bad at at times I thought I somehow still screwed up the break in process. I guess I'd get used to it over time though.