Sponsored by:

Track Fuel

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2018, 07:41 AM
ldamelio
Rennlist Member

Received 884 Likes on 478 Posts
Default Track Fuel

What do folks think about fuel for the track for the 718S? I'm a noob and just getting started in HPDE with my first track event in a couple of weeks. By definition, I won't be running the car at 10/10 (at least for now). Track (NJMP) has 93 and 100 available. Aside from cost, any pros/cons to using either of these for beginner HPDE? How about later if I do get close to running 10/10 as I progress?
Old 04-30-2018, 09:16 AM
iliveoncaffiene
Burning Brakes

Received 396 Likes on 234 Posts

If you're not running 10/10, 100 octane won't make too much of a difference. It'd probably be the equivalent of getting a GTS instead of an S (93 vs. 100 in terms of power)
Also, I'm not sure if the ECU is programmed to take any advantage of 100 octane. If so, you won't even get any benefit to running 100 octane in the first place
Old 04-30-2018, 09:50 AM
manifold danger
Three Wheelin'

Received 1,133 Likes on 638 Posts

Here- http://www.badasscars.com/index.cfm/...rod/prd427.htm

I actually took the time to do a little internet sleuthing and discovered I had a bit to learn in this department.

Short answer- race gas belongs in race cars. If you don't already know that your car needs race gas, then it's probably best to avoid it. Because race gas is designed to make the detonation COOLER, you will probably actually lose power in a factory car.

edit- A couple interesting things from more poking around the internet... the 718s have a compression ratio of 9.5... which is lower than the 981 because it's turbocharged. My 981 has a compression ratio of 12.5... which honestly is the highest I've ever heard of for a factory car. 9.5:1 seems pretty high for a turbo car too- I remember how everyone considered the 2000 Civic Si's 10.2:1 really high back in my youth, and that car is obviously naturally aspirated. Fun.