Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cayman GTS Tire/wheel advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 02:42 PM
edkwon
Racer

Received 246 Likes on 97 Posts

Hi, 2016 GTS owner here. I just recently purchased a set of 19" HRE FF01s for more comfortable street ride and to use occasionally on the track. Unfortunately the Michelin PSS tire sizes I want are backordered nationwide til the end of July.

I can wait but also wondering how ok an alternative Bridgestone Potenza S04s would be for both duties.i know the PSS will be superior for both (I'm a total track novice so I don't need serious street comp tires yet).

The Bridgestones are not only available in stock but a little cheaper as well.

Would they serve me ok for the next 10k miles or so before I decide to switch them out?
Old 06-22-2016, 09:05 PM
brad@tirerack.com
Former Vendor

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by edkwon
Hi, 2016 GTS owner here. I just recently purchased a set of 19" HRE FF01s for more comfortable street ride and to use occasionally on the track. Unfortunately the Michelin PSS tire sizes I want are backordered nationwide til the end of July.

I can wait but also wondering how ok an alternative Bridgestone Potenza S04s would be for both duties.i know the PSS will be superior for both (I'm a total track novice so I don't need serious street comp tires yet).

Would they serve me ok for the next 10k miles or so before I decide to switch them out?
The S-04 is also a very good tire, and a very popular pick for people looking to get a bit wet weather traction. Many have tried S-04 due to nonavailability of the SS and have been just as pleased with them.

Please call me if I can help.
Old 07-07-2016, 12:43 PM
Formulabob
Rennlist Member

Received 65 Likes on 32 Posts

Similar situation to EDKWON above.