Sponsored by:

Trying to understand Porsche!

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2016, 11:17 PM
frankee4u
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trying to understand Porsche!

Maybe I'm new to Porsche but I don't understand why I feel shafted before my RS arrives

GT3 991.1 amazing and love mine

GT3RS 991.1 - amazing - pushed hard and finally got an allocation for the 4L 500 hp arriving in 3 months

911 R - a dream that was reserved for super VIP and 918 VIP program. No luck

GT3 991.2 - the perfect blend of 911 R/GT3RS. A manual 4L 500 hp pops up making me rethink the RS - spend less, get the same power, maybe last GT NA car, and it's a manual.

I'm super excited for all the people getting the GT3.2 in manual - this is a buzzkill for my RS.1 that hasn't arrived and the manual 997 collector/owners/enthusiast.

feeling a little disappointed about the pace in which they are cannibalizing previous models/gens.

Does anyone feel this way?
Old 07-27-2016, 11:25 PM
GiuseppeM
Three Wheelin'

Received 87 Likes on 55 Posts

There have been hints, spy shots and speculations but I would wait until the new car is presented. If .2 is NA and manual then all the VIP that bought the 911R are gonna get pissed, is Porsche going to do that intentionally?
Old 07-27-2016, 11:38 PM
Jpacione
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

I can relate. Similar situation, with mine just having arrived. But for me it's more about making the engine more bulletproof. If the 991.2 gt3 comes out with same horsepower, manual, AND oiling "fix", it will affect my happiness with the car to some extent, especially if I have to pay down the line to apply fixes. But I really do love these cars, and the RS is special, longevity issues or not.
Old 07-27-2016, 11:55 PM
Nizer
Rennlist Member

Received 1,723 Likes on 914 Posts